We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice, clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed one night in December. Upon checking in, I asked if there was a discount for AAA members. Snarky response of " Uhhh, not if you don't tell me before I give you your price". How will I know if I am getting a discount if I tell her first? Oh well, room was recently updated, clean and provided a good night's sleep. Would probably stay there again, snarky employee aside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We always take the good with the bad and use comments to coach our staff. I would like to apoligize for the rude comment that you received, I can assure you that is not the norm for our staff. I am proud to say that we have made great changes at our property and would like to offer you a discounted rate when you return to the area. Please contact me direct at 352-377-4000. Thank you for your time, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    193
    80
    53
    66
See reviews for
222
124
98
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Spacious room, clean and courteous staff. All rooms have balcony. Great price!

Adjacent rooms not so private. As you can hear everything.

Overall enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend and do again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you Marlene for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return again. If your ever in the area again please contact us direct to book and save. 353 377 4000 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was here for only one night but have stayed here before. Each time the rooms were clean and suitable. The room was large, bed comfortable, service friendly. This time I ate dinner and the salmon was perfect. I've stayed in crappy hotels for the same price, so at this rate ($60) it was a steal!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMgmt, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
HI Erica!

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We sincerely enjoyed serving you on your stay! The Blackened Salmon Salad is one of my favorite entrees on our Lakeside Grill's menu. I'm glad you also appreciated our new larger beds. We took the extra step with our recent rennovations in getting larger thicker pillow top mattresses, and I'm glad they have made a difference. Many thanks for taking the time to respond!

Best Regards,
Tracy Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

In the past, I have used a coupon from Roomsaver to get a room here for $39.99. During my last visit they would not honor this rate. They said that no rooms were available at this rate, but they did have some at a higher rate of $48.95. The strange part of this is that the 2 rooms that we rented last time at the $39.99 rate were empty and not used while we were there this trip.
Also, the room that we were given had dirty towels and was not very clean. The balcony was dirty, towels were missing and our ice bucket was missing. It appeared that our room was used for a short time, and then never cleaned. I would suggest that if you stay here, see the room first to see if it is clean and if they will not honor the rate move on to another hotel as there are lots of them nearby. Also, I would agree with others that have stayed here about the ammenities charge of $2.50. What is this for? The pool is always so dirty that it is never used. What other ammenities are they talking about? I would love to know what they are. I know that it is only $2.50, but the point is that it should be removed as a charge. I think that our next visit to Gainesville will be to another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMgmt, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I would like to offer my sincerest personal apologizes for any problems occured on your stay. This was definitely not our goal nor intention and as you can tell by our numerous good ratings, not our normal way of doing business. Our amenity not only allows for access to the pool, but it also have features like a complimentary shuttle service to and from some of Gainesville's largest attractions, convenient access to our business center and fitness room, a full service restaurant with nightly happy hours and complete room service menu, as well as over 70 cable channels for your enjoyment in your room. Also included is free Wi-Fi, which most hotels charge a daily fee for. I'm glad we were still able to accomodate you at a very reasonable rate, even though the coupons were not being honored on that sold out weekend. Many thanks for your stay and I appreciate your feedback!
Best Regards,
Tracy Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Paramount plaza is comfortable place to stay whether long term or short term.the staff is very professional and they offer shuttle service. The rooms are very nice; it is located on a natural preservation ....I saw a alligator swimming. But have no fear there is a fence to keep them from coming on the property. Also Lots of pretty birds.

Room Tip: They are currently remodeling the first floor in building 2000.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob1302, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on your recent day. We have taken great strides to improve the Paramount Plaza Hotel Suites. We are changing everything in our guest rooms to our restaurant. We are glad that you noticed. We hope that when you are back in the Gainesville area again that you will allow us to accomidate you. If you do stay please book direct at 352-377-4000.
Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a lovely hotel by a lake and not at all what we expected for our stop over travelling back to Orlando. The reception was large and airy with free internet and a nice restaurant with very friendly staff. We had a large room with balcony overlooking the gardens. The lake is right next to the hotel but unfortunately it was raining when we arrived so we could not take a walk that evening. Would really recommend saing here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We take great pride in offering our guest an experiance the deserve. The Paramount Plaza offers great booking discounts and offer plush style rooms. Our 7.5 acre property has everything that a full service hotel has to offer from room service to same day laundry. A large pool deck that overlooks Bivens Lake. We even have onsite Avis Rent A Car. We know that you have many choices when staying in the Gainesville area and we are glad you chose us. If your ever in the area again, Please feel free to contact me direct at 352-377-4000

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaveral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Here for my son's graduation (so glad the other parents had a better location - my son would have been embarassed). Have to walk down the first flight of stairs, get on the elevator and go down one floor, and hope the door opens. Get what you pay for. But it is clean. I do wonder though about fire, if you can't get in can you get out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMgmt, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Well we try to take the good feedback along with the bad feedback as a way to improve ourselves. We have brand new elevators being ordered right now! I'm glad you noticed how clean we keep our property and I'm also glad that we have already taken corrective actions to improve upon the problems you noted. Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback and your concerns are always welcomed.

Best Regards,
Tracy Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Renovated in 2012-13, the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.