We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The reason the lake is fenced off is to prevent the alligators from coming into the first floor rooms! We saw several during our recent stay.
Staffmember Ernest was especially helpful. During our stay, all the rooms in building 2 were getting new beds, carpet, and paint. Our lakeview room had already been done.
Big wedding the weekemd we were there, and parking was at a premium. Could find only 1 handicap parking spot for each 4-floor building.
Despite being a no-smoking facility, 2 rooms on our floor was exuding cigarette smoke in the late afternoon and evening; didn't smell in our room, though.
Room service breakfast was good; best hotel shower I've ever had!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the buildings have beatiful view of the lake and lots of wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. The lake that the hotel is set on is a state run Nature Preserve with wildlife. We hope that you enjoyed your newly remodled room. We are taking great messures to improve the entire property. The parking lot will be one of our final projects and making sure our ADA guest will be taken care of is on that plan. Part of our remodle are adding new bathroom fixtures also, we are glad you ejoyed that part of your stay. If you are ever in the area again please feel free to contact me direct 352-377-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    146
    69
    47
    61
See reviews for
173
101
85
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SANTA FE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was OK, but not anything special. The pool is really nicer, but was not heated so did not use. Grounds are pleasant, but unsure why the lake is fenced off and trees hide it from view to a certain extent. Glad it was a quiet period; this is a big complex and could see it being very busy at times. Checkout seemed to take longer than it should in this computer age. Not sure what the extra "amenity fee" really got us; we were on a long trip and this is the only place that charged that, yet we got similar facilities at other hotels without an "amenity fee".

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor for the views, light, and to avoid noisy neighbors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you Robert L for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. The Paramount Plaza Hotel is built next to a nature preserve that is protected by the state of Florida, that is why it is fenced off to the general public. I apoligize for the staff not explaining our amenity fee. If you are back in the area ever again please contact me direct, I would like to offer you a upgraded room. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I highly recommend the Paramount Plaza in Gainesville, FL. I have experiened multiple stays. Most recently, the staff member, Mr. Willie Jones gave us an extra special hand with our needs and was so professional and gracious. What an exceptional employee!!
Thanks Paramount....

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room without a doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMgmt, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Donna!!
Thank you so much for your glowing review. It literally made me say "Awww! I love willie too!" when I read it. He hold the door for me every day when I come to work, as my arms are always full. But he does the same for every guest as well. He is a kind hearted soul and a perfect example of how our staff shines! Thank you so much for acknoledging him!
See you on your next visit!
Tracy Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

scheduled the stay for family members on their first vacation in over 10 years ... the Manager Robert Knight was very helpful in everything from planning ... booking to almost daily checking in to make sure everything was going well ... he chose the perfect room for them .. great view ... excellent service for the entire stay and always helpful and friendly staff ..

Room Tip: My family members stayed in a lake view room in the 2000 building .. it was wonderful for someone wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMgmt, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Robert Knight is one our shining stars and we are proud to have him a member of our team. Thank you so much for your glowing reviews. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Gainesville. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was staying at the hotel for a clinic at Shands. The staff were cheerful and helpful. From Travis and Marcel in the vans, to Holly and Patrick at the front desk, to the morning buffet waiters, to the housekeeping staff, they were responsive and friendly.They even went out of their way to open doors and help patients feel safe and comfortable.

Although a cliche, they made you feel like home and they even suggested I could not leave. The only negative was a change in the router which caused some inconvenience for Internet junkies. The problem is Cox, not the staff.

Thank you.

Room Tip: I did not rate the Spa because I did not use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that we met all your expectations. It is not offten enough that we hear kind words like yours. I would like to apoligize for the internet while you were with us. We have started renovations of the hotel and upgrading the internet is just one of the many changes we have made. Please contact us direct for your future stays at 352-377-4000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

For the price ($49 for people with family in Shands Hospital) it was great! Clean, comfortable beds, and quiet. The restaurant was fair and the breakfast buffet inexpensive. Sufficient parking and personnel. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Tima was especially helpful. Rooms were larger than most hotels and everything inside worked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMgmt, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for recognizing our staff. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay in Gainesville. Please dont hesitate to contact us again regarding your needs for any trips to Gaiensville. Tima will be here and will be happy to help! :-) Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The staff I dealt with on a daily basis for two weeks that I was staying there while waiting to deliver my baby at Shands were Robert the manager he went above and beyond to make sure I had a comfortable stay... the front desk staff Patrick, Tima, and Jason were very kind and courteous and always willing to lend me a hand... Shuttle drivers Travis and Marcell were alway kind, generous, prompted with pick up times and easy to talk to... Café staff Evelin, Racheal (young girl with cool earrings), then the two men servers were an older man with longer hair and glasses I think his name was Ron and then the other guy worked at night too kinda sandy blonde hair and really tall, they were all great servers... And last but not least I can't forget my room service lady Desirea she was very warm hearted very concerned with my health and the baby and the only room service person who knew how to clean a room and kept me accommodated with everything I needed and comfortable during my stay... I will have to be returning to Shands frequently due to a disability my daughter was born with but I will never hesitate on which hotel I will be staying in... Paramount Plaza 100%!!!
Thank You All, Brandy

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time out to let us know that we met all your expectations while you stayed with us. We will share all your kind words with all the staff that you had contact with while staying with us. We pride ourselves on great southern hospitality and making each guest stay a memoriable one. If you are traveling back to the area again please contact us direct to book the best price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Plaza Hotel
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount
Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Currently being renovated in 2012-13 the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prarie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffeemakers, wireless internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 730am to 530pm daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.