We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved The hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My son and I have been coming here for 2years for proximity to Shands (every 3 months). Mike at check-in was extremely friendly, helpful!!! He should be recognized for his service. Even though we are putting up with TS Debby, this was the best stay. very clean room, excellent view of the storm over lake!

Room Tip: Did not use spa or breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for enjoying your stay with us, even during the inclement weather. Beautiful Florida sometimes has its bad weather day, but I'm glad that our staff was able to help you shine through it. We look forward you visiting again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    146
    69
    47
    61
See reviews for
173
101
85
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Was there as part of the group. Staff was super friendly. Hotel is clean and the pool area is really nice.

Only one complaint, well two. Parking can be a problem and the towels are kind of small. Other then that, it is a great place to stay and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We appreciate your response and honest feedback. We are looking into upgrading out towels into larger ones at this moment. You read our mind! We know that it's the little things that our guests really notice and try to accomodate all requests, large or small. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on 2 separate occassions in a 2 week time period. The room was clean and smelled fresh, the sheets were white and clean, the coffee pot in the room made hot coffee, and the a/c in the room was ice cold! The shower was hot and steamy, but the tub could have been a tad cleaner. Every staff member I met in the hallways was friendly and offered a smile and asked how I was doing. There is even a little gym and it was clean and did exactly what I needed it to do for my fitness schedule. Great location to run as well.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool was very nice. You can also see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The Paramount Plaza Hotel prides itself on offering 100% Guest Satisfaction. We hope that if your ever in the area again that you will choose our locataion again. Please contact the hotel direct to book the best rate. 352377-4000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Comfortable nice, roomy clean rooms with a beautiful view of a preserve. Very good for the price. Please be aware the food at the restaurant was awful. the chicken was red and undercooked, the carrots were hard and so was the baked potato. My fiance ordered fish, and after about 1/2 hour the waiter said they were out of fish. He had few choices one of which was a steak. He asked for medium but it was more like rare. He asked for them to cook it some more, but when they brought it out, it was just as bleeding as before. The service was bad . The salad was not fresh. I did not eat my meal and got it deleted from the check and went to another restaurant. This was the most horrible dining experience. I think it was a bad sign when there was only one other person having dinner on a sunday night, but we thought it was convenient and stayed. It is a nice hotel, except i will never eat at that restaurant again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your honest response! It is always difficult to hear that someone did not receive the service they anticipating, but we do appreciate the feedback. Our goal is to always provide every guest with 110% satisfaction and I apologize that we did not do that with your stay. I'm glad that you did enjoy your room and thought that it was a good value. We will use your comments to make improvements and corrections on our restuarant, since this is definitely not our normal response. Best Regards and happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a wonderful experience my wife and I had. We were really lucky to get a room with a balcony that overlooked the lake. Watching the sunset and the wildlife that were around and in the lakes was truly a unique experience that enhanced our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We, as managers here at Paramount, try to remember to take a moment during our busy day to appreciate our beautiful sunsets over the lake as well. I'm so glad you enjoyed watching our great views while on vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The rooms are really nice, clean and the beds are great. Plus, the view is nice because it's located right next to a big lake. The food at the restaurants was definitely to my liking. The prices were very reasonable. I came for the morning buffet and was served by Alex. He was very friendly and helpful. He recommend I come back with my family for our lunch or dinner. The only thing about this hotel is, if you stay here, you really need a car if you want to go out for restaurants and shopping. Overall, this is a very good hotel and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback! We aim at making the breakfast buffet something that helps out guests start their day off right. Affordably priced and way more than a simple continential breakfast, we try to please our guests with a nice meal. Thank you for letting us know we did that for you! Come back anytime to take a look at our lakeviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle,ga
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was very impressed with all the service at the hotel. The grounds were great the service was great the bartender , Evan, was very professional and did a great job!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you! We love Evan as well! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Plaza Hotel
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount
Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Currently being renovated in 2012-13 the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prarie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffeemakers, wireless internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 730am to 530pm daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.