We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to UF and Shands, but well-worn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to UF and Shands, but well-worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel/front desk staff VERY nice, friendly and helpful, and the hotel is a good price, but the reason is it is very worn - old everything - nicked furniture, old carpets, old, very slow elevator, very lumpy pillows, foam mattress without much support, super thin towels (I know this is pretty standard anywhere you go these days). The shower didn't drain so we ended up standing in inches deep water by the time we were finished, the water took a very long time to get warm. The worst was we had a HUGE Palmetto bug in our room the first night. For those of you who don't know what they are, they are giant flying cockroaches that Florida is famous for. They don't indicate dirtiness, but still - we wondered about pest control. That was awful. My niece was with my daughter and I and she killed it for us, otherwise we would not have been able to sleep.

Good location very close to UF (we went to my daughter's preview/orientation there) so that was a plus. I don't think I'll stay again though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    189
    78
    52
    66
See reviews for
220
119
98
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The service that we received was outstanding! The cleaning and maintenance staff were friendly and courteous. The waiters and waitresses in the onsite restaurant were friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were friendly and informative. The room was clean and had everything that we needed in it. The location was convenient to Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park and Downtown Gainesville. The onsite restaurant was incredibly convenient and we enjoyed every meal that we ate there. We also enjoyed shooting pool right outside the entrance to the restaurant. The swimming pool was enjoyable on Saturday afternoon. What I liked best was the friendliness of the staff. What I liked least was the low water levels in Bivens Arm Lake next door. Hopefully it will rebound soon. Overall, a great visit!

Room Tip: We were very happy on the ground floor. Our room was convenient to the swimming pool. Both parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been very pleased with my stay at the paramount. Its an old resort so it gives you the pampered feel without an outrageous price. Evan the bartender makes the bar a fun place to relax and have nice time. The excellent menu of great food can either really, really good, or not so good depending on what cook is working. The in house music they have during happy hour, makes a great environment as well, with the mellow jazz the artist plays will truly take your worries away for the moment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights and was put on the 1st floor which is 2 floors below the actual lobby. The lobby was located on the 3rd floor. Getting to my room required some work. Need an access card every time you go from lobby/parking lot to the elevator inside. The halls reaked of food because of people throwing them in the trash bins outside the vending areas. The room itself was quite spacious. The desk chair was a bit too short so I felt like a kid sitting at a high-top. A bit too dim for my liking.

Now onto the staff. The front desk just did not seem to care about me or the other guests. It's as if there were just killing time. Another thing was the cleaning staff. They were loud and swearing when they were cleaning out the rooms every morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft.myers
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had a Great Stay. I will be back again! The employees went over the top, to make you feel Welcome. The resturant menu was supurb. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time in! Our check in process was smooth and the room was perfect. The view and balcony were like no other room I have had in Gainesville. We got to see the sun rise on the lake, breathtaking! We enjoyed drinks and appetizers at the Lakeside Grill with a fun and very nice bartender. The bed was so soft and we slept like babies! The pool was wonderful with a view of the lake and relaxing. Parking was always available close to our room and luggage carts were also easy to find.
We look forward to staying again and again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKGM1, General Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments. I will be sure to share with our staff. We are pleased that you had a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville and The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites.

Thank you
Robert Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was very impressed with the size of the room. I had read several reviews about the hotel before booking so I was not surprised when the fan in the bathroom didn't work, or when we rode in the elevator and it was stuffy and a little scary. I was shocked however with how rude the front desk staff were. Several of the reviews I read said how wonderful and helpful the staff was. That was not my experience. I stayed Saturday through Monday. On Sunday afternoon when I returned to the room the key let me in the building but would not let me in the room. It was raining outside so I decided to venture through the inside maze to get to the front desk to inquire about my room key. Apparently I inconvenienced the lady by asking why my key wouldn't work and if there was a more direct route to my room. Then upon check-out on Monday morning the man was a bit annoyed when I asked for a total of my charges. When I got home Monday night I realized I had made a mistake by leaving a charger in the room. I immediately called the hotel to ask about it and was told I could leave a message with housekeeping or call back in the morning because the front desk doesn't have any knowledge of items left behind. When I called back Tuesday morning I was transferred to a voice mail so I hung up and called again. This second phone call completely annoyed the lady who answered the phone who then yelled at me and slammed the phone down. All of that to say that the rooms are nice for the money paid but don't expect any courtesy from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. Renovated in 2012-13, the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. Convenient Gainesville Hotel Location The Paramount Plaza is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Paramount Plaza offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.