We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A low budget - last minute option.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge West

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N.W. 75th St., Gainesville, FL 32607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A low budget - last minute option.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have not stayed at a motel (outside access) since 1993. So I gave an "average" rating because it was neither a poor hotel experience nor a very good hotel experience.

Stayed here after booking last minute for a Gator game. If you need a place to sleep and that is all you want to do, this is a low budget option. The free breakfast was minimal (waffles, coffee, bagels, cereal, OJ, milk) but filling - with little options for individuals with dietary restrictions (none in our party). Rooms were clean overall. The two couples in our group didn’t find anything dirty. There is room for improvement (see below) – but overall, not bad (I was pleasantly surprised) for a low budget hotel.

Room for Improvement:

Attach all fixtures to the wall securely.
Update all bed linens (it's 2012).
Update toilets (they use too much water and are constantly running).
Include some fruit items at breakfast.
Notify the front desk attendant that they should always take a proactive approach to service (visitors shouldn't have to ask for routine services).

Room Tip: Plan your trip in advance and book elsewhere if you have the opportunity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was late in booking a hotel for my family to attend the Gator football game and because everything else was booked, we were stuck with this hotel choice. I understand that all the hotels in Gainesville raise their rates on football weekends, but what I paid for this hotel is beyond reason. It is a low budget operation. The structure and surrounding property has not been maintained. The room was worn out, unclean, and the linens were cheap and unclean. My daughter pulled the covers back to get in to bed and it was full of hair. The blankets on both beds had cigarette burn holes. The pillows were lumpy and mis-shapen.The room did not look like it had been fully cleaned. Unfortunately, it was 11:00 PM at night, we were tired and knew everything in the area, including this hotel was sold out. We were stuck. We slept on pillows that we brought and stayed fully dressed. The good news is that the AC worked. The next morning the shower was hot and the microwave and coffee maker worked. They do have free wifi. We chose not to check out the free buffet breakfast. This property is ready for a full tear out renovation. I will do everything I can to plan better in the future and not stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Check in early and inspect the room right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

After a very cordial and welcoming check-in, found a clean, spacious room with a nice bathroom. Not luxury, but fine. It's located next to services such as a Walgreen's and a car wash, several restaurants. Only problem was tv reception, green and snowy. And it would help if hotels would give you the wi-fi code when you check in. The breakfast was very good, with a variety of choices, including the make-yourself waffles. The price was right and the people very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for a few days and I have not ever had such a great stay.The rooms and service were wonderful,As the rate was reasonable,very clean room and our breakfast was yummy.All the staff was polite and friendly.I would very much look foward to another visit.we did enjoy the using the pool as it was nice and clean.I will tell our friends to be sure and stay at Econo lodgeWest for comfort ,the beds were nice and firm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here with some friends and paid a great overprice because of a game in town. Don´t know exactly how much they charge but I wouldn´t pay much. It looks very sad, inside and out, in boring surroundings, pool looks just awful. Beds are okay, make sure you go for a quick shower cause you just want to get out of there real fast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The whole property was ugly and rundown. The buidling was old and tired, the landscaping scraggly. The room was awful. It stank of mold combined with some kind of carpet powder. We made it a little better by running the AC at an uncomfortably cold level, but then it was unpleasantly chilly. The linens were so skimpy and cheap that there wasn't even a sufficient blanket, the pillows were old and shapeless . The furniture was chipped, scratched, dented, wobbly and in disrepair. The carpet was dirty and had tears and stains. The coffee tray in the vanity area was dirty and had spilled sugar. There were numerous hairs and dead bugs in the tub.
We discovered when barefoot that the carpeting from the bathroom/vanity sink area felt dampt to the touch for several feet. It probably explained the horrible dank oder, as if there maybe had been a flood which was never propertly dried. In any case, all the carpet deoderizer in the world just made it nauseating.
The whole property was shabby and disgusting. Would NEVER recommend or return. We were really afraid of catching something it was so repulsive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I normally wouldn't stay in a hotel with cheaper prices simply because they lack class and attract the undesirable. The structure is old and needs renovating. The bathtub finish was peeling. The bathtub rubber mat was permanently filthy and would not come clean. So I actually brought lysol and bleach to spray the room down because I literally felt sick. It was disgusting. I could hear footsteps in the room above me on the second floor and well as the couple having sex ALL NIGHT or something making a constant noise against the wall. Too bad every hotel in the city was booked because of some college function/game.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge West

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gainesville
Gainesville Econo Lodge
Address: 700 N.W. 75th St., Gainesville, FL 32607
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.