We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge University

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge University to your Saves list
Econo Lodge University
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge University
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   2649 S.W. 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Gulfport, MS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We had an emergency visit to Gainesville to take care of a relative (student at UF) that had surgery. We found the lodging to be clean and safe. When we had a problem, it was attended to right away. The staff could not have been any nicer. The value for your money is outstanding. I would recommend a stay there to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

The bed was hard as a rock, the pillows here just as bad. We had a empty box of Klennix in the room, which I left out in hopes they would take the hint and leave a box. No way. Then the hand towel that was dirtied was not replaced when the room was made up.

When taking a shower the handle came off in my hand.

Complimentary breakfast.. HA! Very little choice of anything to eat. According to hotel details says there was a coffee maker as one of the room amenities...if there was one I wonder where it was? I sure didn't see it.

Had booked a room with a King sized bed, ended up in a queen.

Would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

This hotel was awful. The beds were hard and the pillows were thin and flat. There were no electrical outlets near the desk for the computer. If you unplugged the microwave, the refrigerator didn't work. Everything was old and had a funny smell. The room was small. The price was really high for a hotel of this quality. The front desk was unmanned most of the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Very nice and clean/ new furniture and great service. Got a good night sleep, no noise/ beds were great.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

This hotel or motel whatever it was, was terrible. The tub in the bathroom kept getting glogged. I called desk to report nobody answer, I even when up to the desk and nobody was in it. And also the sink got glogged so I imaginr their was a problem with the draining. The wireless was not working. And the rooms were old!!

  • Liked — That it was close to Shands Hospital
  • Disliked — The Service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

My wife and I are members of the choicehotels which econo lodge are associated with. We attended the University of Alabama vs. Florida football game in late September 2006 and had a good time in Gainesville. The hotel is a little old but centerally located to many things near the university and other things in Gainesville.

When we arrived at the hotel, we discoved our air conditioner was off in the room so it was a little uncomfortable for awhile. The carpeting was stained and a toothpick from a previous renter was still behind a chair in room 263. It continued to be there after three days of house keeping. Oh well, and the water in Gainesville tastes AWFUL. Other than that we had a good time and the hotel wasn't that bad. I am a govenment mushroom and the break in the room rate offset any unpleasurable experience we may have encountered.

The hotel did have a continental breakfast but we chose to eat at the IHOP down the streat and at the 43rd street diner down the street. We ventured to Ocala to visit with the football team and ate at a place called Harry's and had some wonderful gator tail and salmon.

I did discover that Econo Lodge while affiliated with Choicehotels does not participate in the free night and points accumulation. They do offer some kind of stamps for nights promotion that we did not take advantage of. Again, it was a good trip to Gator town and this hotel is centrally located.

Remember its LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge University

Address: 2649 S.W. 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge University 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gainesville
Gainesville Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.