We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, exceptionally clean room, great complimentary breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn University

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2435 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service, exceptionally clean room, great complimentary breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

For the price, you really can't beat this hotel. The service was top notch. Sanjay at the front desk was incredibly friendly and very accommodating. The room shocked me with how clean everything was. It was literally spotless. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations. They had a waffle maker to make fresh Belgian waffles, eggs, buscuits and gravy, cereal, oatmeal, etc. I have never seen a spread like that for a complimentary breakfast at any hotel, let alone a bargain hotel. I will definitely stay here again when I come to Gainesville.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
9
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I am in Gainesville a few times a year for both business and pleasure and I am quite familiar with the limited lodging options here, particularly if you want to be anywhere near downtown or the UF area. If you have a car your #1 choice should be the Paramount, if you want to park and walk your choices should be Hampton Inn then Holiday Inn. But if you have a car and have business downtown, this is the best price you will pay for a good room in the area. The Days Inn just a half block closer to UF is a dump, with plexiglass in the windows and a generally shabby condition. This place at least has a nice front desk staff (at least in the day), and a fairly well kept property (although the hot tub was out this week, which was a disappointment). Bottom line is that this is a decent price for a room in Gainesville and a really good location.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both floors in both smoking and non smoking rooms and found them all all remarkab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What more could a frequent Gainesville traveler want? Many rooms are far enough from US 441 that you can't hear traffic, even with the AC fan off (see Helpful Room Tips, below). On our first stay we went for breakfast 15 minutes after closing time. Sanjay not only opened the door to the breakfast room, he made a fresh pot of coffee and offered to warm scrambled eggs and biscuits with gravy! Plan your Gainesville trip to avoid Gator football weekends and freshman arrival days, when all motels within a 15 mile radius are filled to capacity and room rates are much higher.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from US 441 are quieter -- numbers 1/213-15 on the south side and 1/216-18 on the nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The very best things about this hotel - breakfast, close to campus, and surprisingly comfy beds. Also, the staff is quite helpful.

Details:
1) We were initially booked in a king room - it was just around the corner from the lobby, at the base of the staircase, and the smell of smoke hit us in the face the very moment we opened the door. I could NOT do it; we immediately went back to the front desk to ask for another room. Interestingly, the clerk already knew what we wanted before we even told him. Even though the hotel was overbooked, he gave us the option of looking at another room (a double "suite" at the top of the same staircase) and decide between the two. Very good customer service.

2) We were down for the UF v. LSU game - this location is perfect. The only thing better would have been the Holiday Inn on University, which was booked of course. We could have walked to campus and been in the middle of it all. It also was not far, but not walking distance, from what I guessed was the downtown strip - although in a city the size of Gainesville, is anything really "far"?

3) The continental breakfast was quite good. I expected to see bagels and coffee.... and that's it. It was much more of a spread - waffle maker, eggs, sausage, biscuits, fruit, cereal, muffins, eclairs, toast, juice.... and of course bagels and coffee. ;-)

I'm sure I left something off, but all in all, for a shot trip this hotel will do. Be aware that it is clearly an older hotel - small bathrooms, no flat screen TV (old school tubes), suite not much of a suite - but it is clean and the best price this close to campus on a home game weekend. AND since I tend to choose hotels almost solely based on the bed (and location), it must be pretty alright because I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: If you are NOT a smoker or if you have allergies or sinus problems, DO NOT get booked in room 128.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahira, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June, and it was one of those, "oh wow the photos are rather misleading" experiences. The photos make the property look enormous, the pools look inviting, and the rooms look bright and airy. In reality the parking lot was small and the property crammed in next to a strip of retail stores that look rather questionable. The whirlpool was green. Four of the guests were having fun trying to taunt a snake that they'd startled in the pool area, using the pool's rescue hook. The non smoking room smelled like an odd combination of sharp mildew and wet ashtray (partially because the rooms nearby had smokers staying in them and the smokers would stand outside, right by our room, and smoke near the intake of our A/C unit.) The toilet rocked on it's base and if you wore anything over a size 10, getting the door of the bathroom closed without standing in the toilet or shower itself, was a feat of gymnastic skill. Also, the fridge wasn't working properly and looked like someone had hit it, in the driveway, with a compact car, a few times. What saved this trip from being a 1 to 2 star rating however, was the absolutely sweet staff with cheery dispositions and the willingness to TRY and help out. This wouldn't be one of our top three choices for a return trip but it would be one of the top five for the budget savvy traveler. It's safe, dry, and secure, if nothing else, with VERY nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Quality Inn was clean, but a room that would normally cost $69 per night was $99 because we had the bad luck of scheduling our visit during the week that parents were bringing their kids to University of Florida for the Fall Semester. I imagine that the same level of price gouging goes on when there's a sports event, too. The rooms open to the outside, not a hallway. There was a giant jacuzzi in the room (not in the bathroom -- in the room) -- personally I wouldn't consider getting in a jacuzzi in a hotel room and I don't even want to think about what has happened in that jacuzzi in the past. Even looking at it creeped me out. There was also an empty beer bottle outside our door for half-a-day. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Quality Inn for a weekend visiting a family member at nearby hospital. Very clean, comfortable beds, very friendly staff. Free buffet breakfast included waffles, eggs/grits, cereal, fresh fruit, toast/bagels, coffee & juice. I would Definitley stay again if in area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University

Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel
Quality Inn University Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
Address: 2435 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.