We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban Sandwiches in Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flacos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Flacos
200 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601
(352) 371-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 461 restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Cuban Sandwiches in Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Downtown hub for the best Cuban sandwiches, pastries, and beer. This place is a small 5 picnic booth eatery that is full of the college crowd. The lechon with mojo sandwich was perfect on Cuban bread. The sweet plantains were quite good. Great spot for a quick meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    16
    6
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I love going to Flaco's anytime i'm in Gainesville. My most recent experience was just as amazing as ever. It was late, past 1 am and Flaco's was slammed! The order took a while to make since it was a bare bones crew of one cashier, one cook and one backup/prepper but boy was it worth the wait. My Cafe con Leche was one of the best i've ever had and growing up in Miami, i've drank plenty. I stopped into Flacos after a concert and bought goodies to take home back to St Petersburg. The food was just as amazing reheated the next day. If you have a chance, definitely stop in and grab a cuban, coffee and pastry, your taste buds will thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I absolutely LOVE Flacos. If you're looking for an authentic Cuban sandwich, this is where you need to come! There is an older Cuban lady who prepares all of the delicious food herself. I typically get a Medianoche but everything I've had has been delicious!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“When its Late and You're Hungry Downtown, this is a Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Flacos is open late many nights and they are convenient to the downtown area of Gainesville. While its not anything fancy, the food is good, served fast and not at all expensive. Cafe con Leche and Guava Pastry is great. Really good Cuban Sandwich. There is some seating, but we usually grab food and take it to go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious cuban sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I went after a night out in downtown Gainesville. The line took about 10 minutes. The sandwich was delicious and totally worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flacos also viewed

 

Been to Flacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.