We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Everywhere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We weren;t expecting such a nice place when crossing the country on our "Raccoon Run II" tour, but this Best Western surprised us in all good ways. an oddly pastoral setting, big pool, peanut butter cookies upon arrival, front desk staff who asked if we had AAA in order to give us a better rate, (Hi Tiffany!) and since we booked the king jacuzzi suite, we knew there'd be a jacuzzi, but had no IDEA the jacuzzi would have a light show. Verrrrry nice to simmer away in your room with a glass of chardonnay (nice room service menu!) and watch "V" while the bubbles turn blue, green, red, amber and violet. One SMALL complaint, the lightbulbs were all flourescent, causing me to send dutiful boyfriend to the store for incandescent 60 watt bulbs, which we used for the night and then replaced te flourescents the next morning. sorry about using the extra watts Best Western Gateway, because we think you're grand indeed!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    101
    41
    14
    16
See reviews for
107
68
27
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Very helpful staff. Upgraded room without extra charge due to convenience and fairly quiet day. Able to get faxes from them along with extra toiletries. Free newspaper. No complaints. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

My company stayed at the Gateway Grand for a seminar we hosted. We have stayed at this property before, and as usual they did not disappoint. The staff were excellent in all aspects, from planning the meeting, to check in, to the service in our meeting room.

A few things of note. A few of the attendees commented that their rooms really could use some updating. I was in a premier room, which was a sort of mini suite, and I thought it was in fine shape. I learned that all the rooms do not have flat screen TVs as mine did also. The food service in our meeting was fantastic, and better than many I have had in these situations. The general breakfast service was great also, with waffles, pastries, etc. as well as made to order omlettes for $2 extra. The location of the hotel is great for easy access to the interstate, but not so great for much else. If you need to be near restaurants, mall, etc, then I would suggest staying at the Newberry or Archer Rd. exits in Gainesville.

We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant called "Gators Den." Basically a sportsbar, and not much else. Good for watching a game, but dont expect much in terms of the food.

Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel, and would gladly suggest it in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Tried to book a three star hotel in Gainesville......and even when left in the dark(priceline) had a hard time finding anything at a reasonable price.
Called the Best Western......was quoted a very reasonable price including extended Continental breakfast- great service and extremely clean and pleasant hotel.
Great beds(slept like a rock), good breakfast, fast check in and check out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Because these motels are individual franchises, you can never be sure what you will get, but this is a good motel. Even though it is less than 100 feet from I-75, I could not hear the traffic when inside the room. This motel has a ballroom and hosts quite a few functions, so maybe that's why it is a bit nicer than most. The entrance architecture is quite appealing as are the lobby/breakfast and other common areas which are quite nice and spacious. The breakfast room looks out on the outdoor pool and hot tub which looks nice. The restaurant looked appealing and had a good menu, but I was visiting family and never had time to eat there.

The rooms are fairly standard, with no fridge or microwave, and no flat screen TV. Although the rooms are good size, they have two double beds rather than queen beds. There are rooms with one king bed, but groups of 3 or 4 would have to share double beds if they got only one room. The heating unit had a loud blower. The beds were average quality and medium hard. The closet is quite large but the bathroom is quite small. The shower head and pressure are good. The vanity is outside the tub/toilet area.

The continental breakfast included make your own Belgian waffles and a microwave to heat up potato cakes stuffed with ham and cheese and an assortment of pastries. There was a good selection of breakfast items. The vending machines have a wide range of drinks and snacks.

There were some nice touches such as free newspapers and cookies in mid-afternoon. There is a good size tourist info rack in the lobby. The motel has a fitness center and a salon. The staff was friendly and helpful.

There are more than a dozen motels along I-75 in Gainesville, so I would recommend this motel if the price was right.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We have been staying at this hotel frequently as a family member is in hospital near here. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is a lovely outdoor pool. Breakfasts complete and available early. Lovely staff -let me check in at 9am today. Obviously, it's not the Ritz but it is a perfectly satisfactory place to stay. Be sure to visit nearby state parks and springs. This is a lovely part of Florida.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

I normally don't expect much of the Best Western brand, but this hotel really surprised me. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer. The room (especially the matress and the desk) could have stood to be replaced. This is a bit on the outskirts of Gainesville, so if you're looking to be in the thick of it, don't stay here. Then again, the town is relatively small, so nothing is all that far. The pool area was absolutely beautiful, with very nice chaise lounges and chairs. The gym was not the best I've ever seen, but decent enough for a hotel in this class. The breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.