We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay but not for a healthy breakfast...unless you want to pay extra.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but not for a healthy breakfast...unless you want to pay extra.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great hotel overall - location and service! However breakfast...

They serve all carbed-up food at breakfast, but offer fresh omelets/scrambled eggs...IF you pay an extra $3! Tacky come on! At least offer some fresh fruit for those of us who like to stay fit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm so sorry that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide an offering that has something for everyone, and do offer fresh fruit as part of breakfast, which include pastries, cereals, oatmeal, a waffle-maker, and breakfast sandwiches.

I'll make sure that our Food and Beverage Director is made aware that you did not have the full range of items to choose from during your stay so that we can ensure that we are keeping a fully stocked breakfast for all of our guests.

Please be aware that our breakfast attendants are always available, every morning, in case there is something specific you are looking for that they can provide.

Thank you again for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    44
    18
    17
See reviews for
118
85
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel many times in the past, and have NEVER been disappointed...we will continue to stay and recommend this one...The Gator Den which is attached to the hotel has great food and atmosphere. This trip was the first time we had an opportunity to use the pool and we were not disappointed there either.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Thank you so much for being a frequent traveler to our property, there's nothing we love more than a familiar face! I'm so glad you had the chance to enjoy our outdoor pool and hot-tub. In my opinion, the pool deck is one of the most beautiful and well-kept areas of the whole hotel, and seeing guests relaxing and enjoying a swim makes all the hard work of our dedicated landscaping staff worth it!

Of course it's football season, so there's no better place to be than the Gators Den. With every NFL and college game , there's something for everyone! Put that together with amazing food and great service and you've got a win every time! We'll save a seat for you for the next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is the best Best Western we have ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly and professional. The amenities are great and price is good. Would definitely stay here again. Restaurant on site was good and staff was excellent. Free breakfast was good

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! Best Western is the worlds largest hotel family, so being the "Best" Best Western really sets a high bar for us and we wouldn't want it any other way. We pride ourselves on our great staff. Whether it's the great attitude you'll get from our service staff, the attention and thoroughness of our housekeeping and maintenance staff, or just the quality dining you'll receive from our food and beverage team, they are the ones who keep us "Grand"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The staff was extremely helpful giving us information about visiting UF. A couple of issues though: the furniture in the breakfast room was very stained and needed updating; the carpet in our room was worn looking. It was a handicapped room and there were marks from the wheelchairs. We really didn't need a handicapped room, but somehow we were assigned it. The registration person offered to change the room before we viewed it, but due to the proximity to parking, we decided to keep the room. If you truly need a handicapped room, this room (103?) was not that convenient to parking. Even though the parking was just outside the room, there were steps to access the lot. We would stay there again without hesitation since the problems were fixable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us from your recent stay! I can't think of a compliment I'd rather get than our staff being called "extremely helpful"! Our number one goal is to make sure our guests are receiving the best possible service. We have someone at the Front Desk 24-hours a day ready to assist with anything you need, and it's great to see that they were able to make your stay better.

I'm happy to inform you that our renovation project is going strong and the carpets will be the next thing we update after all of the room furniture is replaced. Please come see us again soon so you can see the beautiful new rooms for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel is located next to the interstate and takes just minutes to get to UF or other parts of Gainesville. The hotel is quiet and there is plenty of parking. Two staff at the front desk at all times of the day to quickly take care of your needs.

The inside and outside of the hotel is quite beautiful, the nicest of all the Best Western’s I have ever stayed at. Rooms were fairly spacious, though bathroom/sink area slightly cramped for two people. When first stepping into the room, I was almost overwhelmed by the odor of bleach...but at least the bathrooms were very clean! After running the bathroom fan for a while the bleach odor dissipated. The A/C was also very loud; I often turned it off when I got tired of the noise and wanted to listen to the News without turning up the volume so much. Mattress comfort I would rate as medium, pillows pretty good.

There was plenty of room and seating in the breakfast area, plus it was a very pleasant place to sit, especially looking out at the pool. Food selection was good (waffle station of course), but I think if you are going to advertise free breakfast and then charge for adding an egg dish, well, it really isn’t free, is it?

Pool area is large, plenty of seating, nice touch to add the gazebos. The water was too warm for my taste…in the hot July weather I would like a cool dip, not a soak in the bathtub…there is a Jacuzzi for that! Not sure if the pool was being heated too much, or it was just the hot Florida sun overheating the pool.

In summary, the hotel was very nice and I would definitely stay there again.

Green Features: There were special waste baskets for recyclables in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our housekeeping and maintenance staff will love to hear that we're "the nicest of all the Best Western's" you've seen! I hope you will share my excitement in our upcoming renovations, which will make our property stand out even more! We will soon be getting all new carpet in our hallways and brand new furniture in our traditional double rooms, to compliment the new furniture that was just added to our king deluxe rooms over the last few months!

I'm glad you were able to take some time to enjoy our breakfast and pool area! While we don't heat the pool, you're right that it can get quite toasty this time of year. I hope that our three large gazeboes gave you a nice place to get out of the sun and enjoy some cool, relaxing shade. Thanks again for your comments, please stop back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. When you walk into the lobby you find this great open space, well decorated, and friendly. The rooms are spacious and the amenities are very good. The layout of the breakfast area is the best I've seen. All this for a good price in a good location. This is a great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit! I must agree with you, every time I enter our beautiful lobby I'm still blown away. With the large windows that let in plenty of light, the wide open space that let's you feel like you can let loose and relax and the gorgeous pieces of original artwork, I always get the feeling that I'm in a very unique space. Our hope is that all of this comes together to make you feel that we're more of a home away from home, and I'm delighted that you felt the same!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Love that I can bring my dog and it is only an additional $20 pet fee. Most places charge $75 or more! Great location-away from the mess of Archer road. The pool area is great and breakfast is good-made to order eggs are additional but there are plenty of options that are free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! It's an honor to be considered your "favorite place in Gainesville!" When you're here, we want you AND your pet to feel like family! That's why we created the large field in our north lot as a pet walking station and give first priority to our pet guests for rooms in that area.

We love being in a quiet corner of Gainesville where guests can relax, away from all of the commotion, but close enough to the interstate where you're only minutes away from great restaurants, shopping, and entertainment!

Please stop by again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.