We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Grand as we thought!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as Grand as we thought!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My son exclaimed upon our arrival,"Looks like the Hard Rock Hotel in Orlando!" Unfortunately, looks were deceiving. We came up for a soccer tournament with a group for a night or two and felt we chose well. The continental breakfast on Saturday out did most by filling up a lot of hungry kids and spectators, but flew the coop on Sunday with little to no choices half way through the hours. We experienced no housekeeping svc on Saturday and had to ask the front desk for extra towels! And, please check your contracts carefully, as we were told one thing, and experienced extra charges the next. I usually write glowing reviews, but cannot, when it falls short of being Grand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I'm very sorry that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. When we have large baseball or soccer groups in it sometimes takes a while to replenish our buffet and we occasionally run out of certain items but replace them with other choices.
I am sorry you didn't receive room service. We do have a houseperson on duty 18 hours a day so if anything is missed, you can inquire at the desk and they can send up a person to accommodate your needs whether it's cleaning a room or supplying extra amenities.
We do charge a half day rate when teams check out after the check out time of 12 noon. This is usually done because a lot of teams come back after playing the tournament. They then shower and leave to go home which makes the room unusable for that night. We feel a 1/2 charge is acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    44
    18
    17
See reviews for
118
85
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel was a bit pricey, but it is a lovely facility and well-suited to people travelling with dogs. Because of the dogs, we used room service which was excellent and a fair bargain. The front desk receptioist was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your great comments on our pet friendly hotel. We have a large field where dogs can run and play. Hope to see you on your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed at the Best Western Gateway in Gainesville7-9 Feb and it was excellent. The room (suite) was clean and the bed very comfortable. All the staff was very friendly and courteous. Free WiFi and a good selection of cable channels. The continental breakfast was very good and you could purchase an omelet for $3.00. The toppings were almost unlimited making it well worth the price.
I attended a banquet function with approximately 120 people. The food was excellent and hot. There was London broil, salmon, and chicken for main entrees. Each was tasteful, full of flavor, and not over cooked. One of the best meals I’ve had in hotel a buffet.
I plan on staying there the next time I visit Gainesville. In addition I believe our organization will use the Best Western Gateway for our next activity.
Room rate was good at $89 plus tax.
There are also 4 additional restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Higher floor has less noise. Hotel has an elevator. Select the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks you very much. I will share your comments with our Executive Chef, Justin. He started his career 15 years ago at our hotel. We receive comments quite a bit on the meals his banquet cooks produce. He truly does have a passion for his job and will appreciate your wonderful comments. We hope you will be attending other functions here at the Gateway Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

For the price, quality and location, this is an excellent choice for a traveler. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The property is well maintained. The room is clean, spacious, and quite. We ate dinner in the sports bar/restaurant in the hotel1. The salads were fresh and served cold. The grouper fingers were just OK, but the rest of the meal was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Every aspect of this hotel is top notch. The restaurant on the property is great and carries a good choice of both bar foods and regular meals. We have stayed here four times and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Gateway Grand is positioned perfectly off I-75 for the southern bound traveler. We were glad for the size of the rooms. The extra space afforded through the seating area is very comfortable and makes the whole experience a lot more pleasant. The hotel is right next to a golf course that provided a wonderful walking opportunity on their cart paths. There were plenty of luggage carts available.

Room Tip: If you book a room near the back of the hotel, you don't always have to go out the front entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful comments. Hope to see you next time you're traveling south or north of I-75. Also, thanks for giving our guests some suggestions on walking areas near the hotel. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Room was clean, staff was nice and helpful. Nice pool area and breakfast good, made to order omelets for $3.00 otherwise you can make waffle and otherwise normal continental breakfast.
Sports bar hooked on and stays open until midnight also has good food.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Take you for the excellent comments. I'm glad to see you were able to take advantage of the continental breakfast and our sports bar. Hope to see you next time your in Gainesville. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.