We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel in gainesville, fl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prophetstown, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hotel in gainesville, fl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times, hoping to earn a free night soon. It is very pleasant, the restaurant is very good as well as the breakfast. We especially like the rooms and the separate sitting area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to be your host and have you stay with us many more times. Have a great day. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    90
    35
    13
    13
See reviews for
89
55
23
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here many times while attending a horse show in Gainesville. Hotel staff always friendly and helpful. On every visit they have given us coupons for the Gator Den Restaurant which has always provided a wonderful meal. Rooms reasonably priced, clean, and comfortable. This is my hotel of choice whenever visiting Gainesville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your great comments! We are hosting the Citrus Cup Morgan Horse competition this weekend and hope to host many more horse events. We hope you will stay here every time you need a room in Gainesville. If we ever forget the coupon for our sports grill, please feel free to ask the desk and they will be glad to give you one. Have a great day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved our room. Very nice staff. Nice size rooms and a great shower. Will stay here again when we are in the area when we are anywhere close to this area. Our daughter in law loves the Florida Gators so she had to have her photo taken with all the Gator things around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the excellent comments. I will share them with the staff of the hotel. We also love*** the Florida Gators. The football team will be staying with us before every home game this coming season. Have a great day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at this property in an upgraded suite with our dogs and paid the $20 pet fee. We have been very pleased before. This year, we were put in a room in the front of the hotel, even though we had requested a room in the rear and the carpet in the room was filthy. Is this the kind of room they are giving people with dogs now? I understand that not all pet owners are responsible, but what does the $20 fee go for? I would think it would be extra cleaning when necessary. Perhaps this was an old room in need of renovation, but for my total of $154.07 cleanliness is expected at a "plus" property. We stayed in room 335. I will think twice before booking this property again which is a shame. I really appreciate other amenities of the room (little living room, nice size fridge with freezer compartment, micro, flat panel, lots of channels, nice dog walking area with disposal bags.) Room decor is dated, but bed is comfortable. Housekeeping also needs to do a better job of cleaning in the corners and ledges, especially around the sink.

Room Tip: Be sure to check your room carefully before you accept it. Avoid room 335 unless they clean thoroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am so very sorry that you received a room that didn't meet your expectations. Every month we have a separate floor of the hotel's carpet shampooed. All of the hallway carpeting will be replaced this year. I will pass along your comments to the housekeeping executive to include in our weekly and monthly training. Again, I'm sorry your experience wasn't good. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Although I stayed here just one night I think it would be a good place to stay for several nights. It appears that the hotel is a newer one with a conference center and a sports bar attached. I stayed in a king room on the third floor near the elevator on a week night and it was very quiet. For $109 this room is above average. The room is more like an executive room with a couch that is also a pullout bed and two upholstered chairs, one in the sitting room and one in the sleeping area. There is a microwave, small fridge and a small sink (wet bar area). The breakfast area is large and a full hot breakfast buffet is good. Did not use the pool or hot tub but they look nice. Also heard some say they liked their room with a jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: There are several restaurants close by, as well as a Dairy Queen and Dunkin Donuts just a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments! Most business people that stay with us like the king premier or king deluxe rooms, which is the type of room you had. I'm very glad the living room area and little kitchenette added to your stay. We hope that if you're in the Gainesville area again you will use the Gateway Grand. Have a great day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is just a bit dated in carpet and furniture, but it feels kind of old world elegant! A great value for the price. Staff really great, pool area is lovely. Our king suite spacious and quiet. Even the fitness center nicely done. Vince did such a great sales job on the phone--- and it was good!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will be replacing the hall carpets and guest room furniture this year. Hopefully that will add the elegance of the hotel. We hope to see you the next time you're in Gainesville. Have an excellent day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Free internet...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville
Free internet...
Show More
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#6 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
8.2 mi away
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#3 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.