We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best random motorway hotel I have stopped at!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best random motorway hotel I have stopped at!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Over the years in Europe and North America I have stopped at dozens of random hotels because fatigue has set in and driving further is not an option. As a general rule, whatever the hotel brand, they cater to a captive audience and are universally bland,with some being downright disgusting. We pulled in here at about five in the evening, exhausted. We got a two bed room for $99. I appreciate that the occasional Days Inn or Econolodge can be less than half that but we were happy.
The room was huge, the hotel had a sports bar attached for dinner and some beers that evening, and breakfast in the morning was a well stocked self serve. The only thing the room lacked was a safe.
This place was a random find for us,and a pleasant one as well. If you are reading reviews and planning an I-75 stopover around here then book away,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    100
    40
    14
    16
See reviews for
105
67
27
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights and went to this hotel because of reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel looks great inside and outside. Because we stayed for 2 nights we took a small suite so we could sit comfortably. The room and bathroom were very clean. The first morning we came down for breakfast was a bit difficult as the hotel was full and the breakfast area is ok for normal use, but not everyone using it at the same time, people were sitting in the lobby etc to eat their breakfast. The second morning was no problem. The staff is very helpful and friendly. the breakfast area was clean, but it seems that no hotel likes to serve real butter or a healthy cereal without chemicals, GMO's or artificial colors and flavors. Cheerios etc is not a healthy alternative.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great looking hotel inside and out.
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and genuinely by the front desk staff.There was a wait to check in however the decorations in the lobby were a great distraction.

We had a king suite, very clean and comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and microwave.

Breakfast was wonderful, the omlet station was great. It was a fantastic deal for $3.00. They offer free breads and cerals plus juice and coffee. The coffee was actually good!

I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The desk staff is the friendliest i have ever seen. The lobby and pool area was very nice by roadside hotel standards. King suite was a good size and clean, the bed was passable. Staff seemed pushed to the limit to keep breakfast stocked. First day, no orange juice. Second day, no coffee and no waffles. It is free, so I guess worth what I paid. The restaurant does not open for lunch and has relocated to one of the hotel ballrooms. Had to drive out to find lunch as there is nothing in walking distance. Wireless, also free, to weak and spotty to be reliable. I would not return if I didn't have to.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos, Indiana, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I thought the rooms were small for the price. We were traveling with a pet and and don't know if that affected the room or not. The room was clean but the bathroom was too small. Staff was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good service, clean room, comfortable bed. Close to my daughter and family so I stay as often as I visit. Very convenient of the highway. I really like sleeping on the king size pillow top mattress and the bedding is comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.