We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great looking hotel inside and out.
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and genuinely by the front desk staff.There was a wait to check in however the decorations in the lobby were a great distraction.

We had a king suite, very clean and comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and microwave.

Breakfast was wonderful, the omlet station was great. It was a fantastic deal for $3.00. They offer free breads and cerals plus juice and coffee. The coffee was actually good!

I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    92
    35
    13
    13
See reviews for
89
55
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The desk staff is the friendliest i have ever seen. The lobby and pool area was very nice by roadside hotel standards. King suite was a good size and clean, the bed was passable. Staff seemed pushed to the limit to keep breakfast stocked. First day, no orange juice. Second day, no coffee and no waffles. It is free, so I guess worth what I paid. The restaurant does not open for lunch and has relocated to one of the hotel ballrooms. Had to drive out to find lunch as there is nothing in walking distance. Wireless, also free, to weak and spotty to be reliable. I would not return if I didn't have to.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argos, Indiana, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I thought the rooms were small for the price. We were traveling with a pet and and don't know if that affected the room or not. The room was clean but the bathroom was too small. Staff was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good service, clean room, comfortable bed. Close to my daughter and family so I stay as often as I visit. Very convenient of the highway. I really like sleeping on the king size pillow top mattress and the bedding is comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is definitely the largest BW we have stayed at and we were rather concerned when we found out our room was in the area of the convention center with its rental rooms. However, we had no problems with noise at all. Check-in was fine. We had already scouted the area for restaurants so we didn't ask about that. We were using BW reward points so the room rate didn't apply. That was good since it was a football weekend and we know the rate would have been very high. Our room was very nice and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The main problem was the bathroom layout--tub and toilet in one room and a sink outside that. Normally that wouldn't be a big deal but there was literally no bathroom counter around the sink which is very difficult for travelers. Breakfast was continental though we did find out after the fact that there were some heatable breakfast sandwiches--wish we had known! It was a good stay overall and we'd stay again for one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Even though we were there on business and not football, we were satisfied with the hotel. It was very quiet in our room and that was a big plus. Other hotels in Gainesville are always raucously noisy on football week-ends and sleep is disturbed. Other Pluses:: is the friendly service and the nice, adequate breakfast. On the Negative side is the small size of rthe oom and bathroom. However, everything was clean and tidy. Furniture is a little shabby in the room, but everything appeared well polished and clean.

It waa nice that there is a restauant there along with room service.

Room Tip: For football fans-I understand that they have a shuttle to and from the stadium. This is a major pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.