We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vegan Fare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Top

The Top
30 North Main Street, Gainesville, FL 32601
352-337-1188
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 461 restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegan Fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I understand why The Top's Sunday Brunch is so popular: it's worth it! If you're looking for wonderful veg-friendly food, this is the place. My family consists of a mixture of ominovores/vegetarians and vegans, so dining out can be a challenge. When we find a place that can accommodate all of our culinary requirements, we jump on it. My daughters are Gainesville locals and visit The Top frequently, but this was only my second visit, the first time for brunch.

The service was friendly and attentive, food was fantastic and the prices reasonable. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    112
    62
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hipster Heaven w/ Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The tiny little place was packed but we were seated relatively quickly. I had awesome bean cakes and corn nuggets. The entrees took a little while to arrive (probably because it was busy) but were delicious when they arrived. They pride themselves on being local and organic (maybe?) which might be the reason the food cost a little more. Overall, awesome experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Definitely a great restaurant!! The atmosphere is awesome & very laid back. Not too difficult to park. Worth the wait & the money. This is definitely a must go if you're in town. They have a fun flavorful menu. I was very impressed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Several people have talked about parking being tough - definitely the case. Regardless, it's worth the search.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good....again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I didn't really know what to expect on my first visit to The Top. I had heard that they had some vegan dishes and that the place was a bit funky (funky in a good way). I like places that are different, quirky, or eclectic, so I was anxious to see what they had to offer.

We were seated in a booth that was secluded in the back of the first section, and it was a nice, private spot. There were a lot of specials on the menu, but none of them appealed to me, so I ended up ordering the classic burger with fries (I've been in a burger phase lately). The burger came on a pretzel roll, so it was a bit unique. The topping were lettuce, tomato, pickle, and onion, and I added smoked, gouda cheese. The burger was very good and filling, and there were lots of fries. It was happy hour so I got a nice glass of Spanish red wine for only $3. My friend ordered scallops, but was brought a whole snapper instead. The waiter, who by the way was very friendly and helpful, apologized for the mix-up, and because the ordered still had to be cooked, comped my friend another drink, and a nice pieced of chocolate cake to share for dessert. We never complained, he just wanted to make up for the wait, so I thought the customer service was excellent. I can't wait to try it again, and maybe try something out of my comfort zone. As mentioned, parking is limited. Also, I don't agree that the employees are "hippies"; at least not in a bad sense of the word. It's a very unpretentious place.Yes, the employees are casual, and some have longer hair and/or tattoos, but I think that is a good thing. One can express himself and still be professional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Top also viewed

 

Been to The Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Top, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.