We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
205 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
melbourne beach, florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We recently stayed at the Camellia Rose Inn for parents weekend for UF. We had previously stayed at the Hampton Inn downtown. We like the downtown area because of it's eclectic mix of restaurants and coffee shops and it is away from the hustle and bustle of the school. This time the Hampton was booked so I looked around for some inns. Having never stayed at a B&B before I did not know what to expect.

We arrived around 8:00 on a Friday night to the owner, Pat greeting us on the porch. She showed us to our room which was the only room on the first floor. It was tastefully decorated with antiques and a beautiful, comfy bed complete with feather pillows. It was very warm and inviting and made for a great nights sleep.

Due to the cool temperatures the first morning we ate breakfast the in the dining room which overlooked the front porch. The second morning was warmer and we dined on the front porch. Breakfast was delicious both mornings we were there. This was the first chance we had to look around. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. While we were very busy over the weekend visiting with our daughter I did have a chance to take a walk down the street to take a look at some of the other B&Bs in the area. The Camellia Rose was the nicest of them all.

Our only regret was that we were so busy that we did not get to spend much time at the inn. The next time we will make time to take advantage of this wonderful haven. This will be the place we will be staying from now on during our Gainesville visits. It is simply the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
67
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is absolutely the best B&B. From the moment we arrived, the owners, Pat and Tom were attentive and accomodating to our needs. The room had everything- very clean and very well decorated. The grounds are very well kept up and the location is convenient to downtown. Breakfast was also fantastic. The prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend The Camellia Rose Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed in Spat's Hideaway at the Camillia Rose Inn with our two little dogs. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, and the whirlpool tub was extremely romantic! Nice little kitchen, pretty grounds, hospitable owers. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I didn't stay there but wanted to share this little story. Some recent guests came to the gallery in Gainesville where I show my art (Artisans' Guild Gallery) this past weekend. I asked them where they were staying and they raved about the Camellia Rose. They said "Why stay at the big chain when Camellia Rose is about 1/2 the price and twice as nice!." That's quite a compliment!

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at the lovely Camellia Rose Inn in Gainesville, Florida in August to help our son move out of his apartment. Since my son just graduated, this was going to be our last trip to Gainesville, so we wanted to make it special by staying in a B&B. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable and the owners made us feel at home. The best part was the delicious home-cooked breakfast served to us by Pat in the charming dining room.
Best times of the year for visiting would be when the camellias are in bloom and the winter holidays. Another plus, it is located near all the sights in downtown Gainesville.
If we ever need to go to Gainesville again, we will definitely stay at this inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

This felt like home. It was hard to pick a room they are all great. Clean does not describe the effort Pat ,Tom and staff put into their Inn. Our room was immaculate and spotless. Pat was unbelievable it was like coming back home to a see family . We had a very early appointment and both Pat and Tom had coffee and breakfast ready before the usual time. We will need to make a few trips to Gainesville in the near future and will stay at Camellia Rose every time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

You will not find a nicer place to stay in Gainesville--period. The Camellia Rose Inn is beautiful, comfortable, and centrally located. The owners of the inn are helpful and a delight to work with.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Address: 205 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camellia Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camellia Rose Inn to your Saves list