We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, inviting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
205 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable, inviting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Camelia Rose Inn, is located in a quiet part of town, surrounded by blooming camelias and beautiful trees. The Inn is a historic, charming home with beautiful rooms, decorated in very good taste. it is immaculate, the breakfast homey and Tom and Pat are inviting and ever present (in a most unobtrusive way) offering suggestions as to help you maximize the enjoyment of your stay.

The first time we stayed there, we extended our visit by a day. Then ( a few days later) called Pat wanting to come back for one more week. That's how much we liked it!

Pat and Tom, truly love what they do because, they do it so well. Of course we cannot wait to be back. Bill and Barbara

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
67
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A great place. We will return. Nicer accomodations than the Major Chain Hotels and a far better breakfast. The wine and cheese in the evening is a nice wind down from the afternoon. Very homey and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The bedding was wonderful and all was very clean and neat. Her decorating was very nice for the location. The meal was OK, no choices and do not ask for seconds on anything you do like, not allowed. Over all OK. Not much else to say. You can not roll your luggage on the floor as it may damage her floors and no assistance in carrying your bags is offered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our second visit to Camellia Rose. The Inn is extremely well kept and very clean. Our bed was comfortable with soft linens, pillows and a comfy mattress. We loved Pat's breakfast each morning, as well as the friendly hospitality. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Viewing the rooms on Camellia Rose's website was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was just outstanding from start to finish and a very nice change from the usual hotels. Pat and Tom have done a super job of creating a place you'd be proud to call home. It was very pretty, the neighborhood was nice, its an easy walk to many good restaurants, and the sleeping was quiet and comfortable. We met another couple there and enjoyed their company and also enjoyed talking to Pat about the interesting history of the house. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter haven
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our weekend was my husband's Christmas present and was planned around the Gator-Ole Miss basketball game. We enjoyed our accomodations, the food was wonderful and Pat and Tom are excellent hosts. The inn was full that weekend with a nice mixture of guests and plenty of common areas to enjoy conversations and quiet time, too. We highly recommend the Camellia Rose Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I had started to feel trapped in Jacksonville, FL by business and family. A short trip South to the Camellia Rose provided the perfect getaway.
The Inn is beautifully maintained and provided us with one of those rare "already settled in" feelings as soon as we hit the front door. Pat was very cordial and got us all the "how to" property info at the outset. Our room was, I believe, the Stardust room which has a small porch with a sitting area overlooking the back yard of the property. The TV was on a small table that, because of the bed foot board, did not allow for comfortable viewing but that was not what we were there for anyway. The rest of the room and bath were spotless and comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was wonderful and a great way to start what turned out to be a sparkling winter day.
We will definitely put this this on our quick getaway list and hopefully be able to return again
soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Address: 205 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camellia Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camellia Rose Inn to your Saves list