We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
Save
You added Camellia Rose Inn to your Saves list
205 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
“New Year's Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the property on New Year's Eve 2012. Pat and Tom are excellent hosts, and the accomodations were both charming and immaculate. The accomodations are within walking distance of downtown, and Pat helped us by offering different options for dinner and celebrations. We Greatly enjoyed our stay and will be going back the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. We had are choice, but would have been happy with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
73
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Time flew by & it was days before my daughter's graduation when we realized we had not made reservations. We were not required to book a 2 day stay which was the first biggie. First impressions were great & Christmas was evident everywhere. The Inn was spotless ( i checked).
Our hostess was helpful in securing reservations (last minute) for my daughter & her friends to meet for dinner & the next day we were greeted cheerfully w/an earlier than scheduled fantastic breakfast.
Hospitality is number one here. This is not to say that the accommodations, etc were less than stellar. The entire experience was fantastic & I would & have strongly recommended a visit to the Camellia Rose Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was an awesome bed and breakfast. We stayed at the Hodge's cottage because we had 2 kids with us and accommodations where perfect. Food excellent. Pat even made me a gluten free banana bread! We def recommend this and would come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Camellia Rose for two nights during the Thanksgiving Holiday period. I was traveling with my daughter, granddaughter and grandson. We felt so "at-home" and wishes only to have had a longer stay. Innkeeper Pat is everything you could want, welcoming, kind, gracious and helpful. Also a great cook!! We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Briar Rose room and were thrilled and so glad that we made this choice. The house is on a very nice, quiet street with several other bed & breakfasts on the same block. You can walk to some restaurants and shopping several blocks away-the location is lovely.
The porches are fantastic! Everything is decorated so well and the bed was comfy and sheets were very nice and soft, plenty of pillows. I could smell the coffee each morning wafting up the stairs...what a great way to wake up! Guest robes were provided, which really came in handy for running down the steps to get the coffee!
We made use of the gas log fireplace in our bedroom. I enjoyed sitting on the love seat in the large hall upstairs outside of our room while reading in the morning. There is a door in the hallway that leads to the upper front porch, which was a fun place to sit in the evenings. I enjoyed the wine that was provided each evening. Lots of thought went into making Camellia Rose a wonderful place of rest for the weary.
The food was excellent. Service was great and friendly.

Room Tip: Briar Rose is pink and is located in the front of the house upstairs, but the street is quiet. (I ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne beach, florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our 4th visit to the Camellia Rose Inn and the title of my post says it all. It continues to be our most favorite inn. Pat and Tom do it right. The rooms are spotless, the beds incredibly comfortable and the hospitality amazing. No detail is overlooked. You are greeted with a hug like an old friend. And when you leave you cannot imagine not coming back to this place. The Camellia Rose is truly an exceptional place and Pat and Tom are amazing hosts. There is no place else in Gainesville we would rather stay.

Room Tip: You can go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pat and Tom, owners of this Bed & Breakfast are warm, wonderful and caring. They catered to our special needs. The breakfast was a delight, especially the pancakes with lemon sauce. Just amazing. The cottage was nice, as always and the bed was heavenly. We recommend this Inn to everyone who is looking for that special extra. Love you, Pat and Tom. We will be back.
Randi and Kay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Address: 205 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camellia Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.