We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Menu, Great Atmosphere, Great Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satchel's Pizza

Satchel's Pizza
1800 NE 23rd Ave, Gainesville, FL 32609-8925
352-335-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 461 restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Great Atmosphere, Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Don't even think about going anywhere else for pizza in Gainesville. Satchels is THE place. The atmosphere is eclectic with "junk art" in and around the restaurant , a stripped down van which functions as a dining booth, a playground for kids and a separate bar/store with live music. Try the house salad: large and with fantastic ingredients. The lemonade is fresh squeezed. The pizzas are incomparable: many imaginative ingredients, great crust.

The restaurant is child-friendly. We went with our daughter, son-in-law and grandaughter and enjoyed a fantastic meal. The waitress could not have been nicer. All in all, a great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    197
    84
    31
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five Star Restaurant prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

And this place is not a five star establishment. Location is about as far away from the middle class residential and retail shopping areas as it can possibly be and still be in the same town so the fuel cost alone just to get there is a factor. I am not a penny pincher and I don't remember exact prices....it's been a little while but beers were over $3/each and I spent $60+ for a couple beers, pizza and a salad with one friend along. I don't mind paying but it wasn't a $60 dining experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“A Tallahassee Perspective. ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

1. CASH ONLY. My bank reimburses my ATM fees so not a big deal, they have an ATM.
2. GET THERE EARLY. Or eat and then go to Satchels. I got there at 4:45pm and was seated immediately, by 5:30pm there was a line at the door. It was a Tuesday. By the time I left, I knew it had to be a Friday night. A lot of the other reviews talk about a long wait time.
3. My pizza was hot, fresh and awesome. The staff couldn't have been better and I can't wait to go back EARLY, BRING CASH and GET MY EAT ON!!
4. The atmosphere/building, very cool.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun, food, family, friendship & fellowship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our party of ten had a blast at Satchel's. We had to wait about 30 minutes for a table, but we were fully engaged and entertained with all there was to see around the place. At the entrance is the owner's old van that doubles as a booth for a family or group. There are all manner of interesting things hanging from rafters and walls, and the atmosphere just exudes a happy, party feel.

As others have mentioned, the Satch salad is an absolute must. It is fresh, piled high, huge, feeds an army and could be a meal in itself. Oh, and it's tasty! We're big fans.

We ordered several different pizzas for our large group, and all were great. Two people had calzones, and they were awesome. Drink refills were timely and plentiful, and our meal was overall a fun and delicious experience.

Don't forget to save room for dessert. The cannoli is out of this world. Ms. Ruth makes the desserts (and all the salad dressings, too), and she should be sainted. Couldn't choose a favorite between the chocolate and vanilla cannoli, which is saying something since I'm a chocoholic. We didn't leave any cannoli; we had to take the gun. ;)

Satchel's is a fun place, unique to Gainesville, and worth your time and effort. Don't miss it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing food, something for all ages and stages! Gluten free pizza and gluten free beer available!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we go to Satchel's, we see anyone from children to older couples, groups, dates and families. Because it can get busy, they have lots to distract you while you wait for a table! Lighting Salvage is a tchotchke shop with a bar and music performance area. They have fun toys, beer and sodas and a place to take a load off and enjoy the performance! The bocce court is also fun for friends and family, as is the children's play areas to allow the kids to play while adults to watch from safe distances while enjoying dinner. The food is superb and service quick! Because servers help everyone, there is always someone offering more water or a refill on your drink! Their pies are big and delish allowing you to customize your own special kind. The millet and flax crust is their gluten free pizza and is superb! They also have salad with Satch's secret dressing, rolls, calzones and such. We always leave overfull and quite happy! It is a cash only business, but there are ATM's at Satchel's and Lightening Salvage. It is an event to go there and everyone will enjoy the evening! Worth the wait for a table! And don't forget to read the back of the menu!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satchel's Pizza also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 
Gainesville, FL

Been to Satchel's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satchel's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.