We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tallahassee Perspective. ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satchel's Pizza

Satchel's Pizza
1800 NE 23rd Ave, Gainesville, FL 32609-8925
352-335-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 478 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“A Tallahassee Perspective. ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

1. CASH ONLY. My bank reimburses my ATM fees so not a big deal, they have an ATM.
2. GET THERE EARLY. Or eat and then go to Satchels. I got there at 4:45pm and was seated immediately, by 5:30pm there was a line at the door. It was a Tuesday. By the time I left, I knew it had to be a Friday night. A lot of the other reviews talk about a long wait time.
3. My pizza was hot, fresh and awesome. The staff couldn't have been better and I can't wait to go back EARLY, BRING CASH and GET MY EAT ON!!
4. The atmosphere/building, very cool.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    115
    42
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun, food, family, friendship & fellowship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our party of ten had a blast at Satchel's. We had to wait about 30 minutes for a table, but we were fully engaged and entertained with all there was to see around the place. At the entrance is the owner's old van that doubles as a booth for a family or group. There are all manner of interesting things hanging from rafters and walls, and the atmosphere just exudes a happy, party feel.

As others have mentioned, the Satch salad is an absolute must. It is fresh, piled high, huge, feeds an army and could be a meal in itself. Oh, and it's tasty! We're big fans.

We ordered several different pizzas for our large group, and all were great. Two people had calzones, and they were awesome. Drink refills were timely and plentiful, and our meal was overall a fun and delicious experience.

Don't forget to save room for dessert. The cannoli is out of this world. Ms. Ruth makes the desserts (and all the salad dressings, too), and she should be sainted. Couldn't choose a favorite between the chocolate and vanilla cannoli, which is saying something since I'm a chocoholic. We didn't leave any cannoli; we had to take the gun. ;)

Satchel's is a fun place, unique to Gainesville, and worth your time and effort. Don't miss it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing food, something for all ages and stages! Gluten free pizza and gluten free beer available!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

When we go to Satchel's, we see anyone from children to older couples, groups, dates and families. Because it can get busy, they have lots to distract you while you wait for a table! Lighting Salvage is a tchotchke shop with a bar and music performance area. They have fun toys, beer and sodas and a place to take a load off and enjoy the performance! The bocce court is also fun for friends and family, as is the children's play areas to allow the kids to play while adults to watch from safe distances while enjoying dinner. The food is superb and service quick! Because servers help everyone, there is always someone offering more water or a refill on your drink! Their pies are big and delish allowing you to customize your own special kind. The millet and flax crust is their gluten free pizza and is superb! They also have salad with Satch's secret dressing, rolls, calzones and such. We always leave overfull and quite happy! It is a cash only business, but there are ATM's at Satchel's and Lightening Salvage. It is an event to go there and everyone will enjoy the evening! Worth the wait for a table! And don't forget to read the back of the menu!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome salad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is very charming! Their outdoor area is the perfect location to enjoy their wonderful salad and pizza and just relax. I highly recommend that you get salad, it is delicious. The salad is just loaded with Romano cheese, apples, almonds, sunflower seeds among other delicious toppings. You really have to try their salad! I always get their mamma deep dish pizza and oh.. It is simply amazing! It is loaded with toppings and it has plenty of cheese and sauce. I could eat here every weekend. Make sure to walk to the back of the restaurant after you are done eating, they have a shop with a collection of eclectic toys and other gifts. I always have an awesome time at that shop just looking trough the random items that they offer. Note: they only take cash at this restaurant, but they have an ATM at the gift shop. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere. Pizza just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Enjoyed my first visit to Satchel's. Thought their house salad was great. Very large. We all got the lunch special - the salad and one slice of pizza. Dessert was OK - cookie that for my taste was a little dry. Service was very good. Enjoyed walking around and checking out the gift shop and the outside "art work". Cash only.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satchel's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Satchel's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satchel's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.