We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice steak and ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark's Prime Steakhouse

Mark's Prime Steakhouse
201 SE 2nd Ave Suite 102, Gainesville, FL 32601
352.336.0077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mark's Prime Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 462 restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 1st ST
Description: Marks Prime Steakhouse has a goal to create a unique dining experience that will please the palate and soothe the soul. We serve the finest beef, freshest seafood, premium wines and naturally fresh vegetables. We hope to see you soon.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very nice steak and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The best place I've eaten in Gainesville, yet. The steak was very good, the sides were awesome and the ambience very nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    52
    21
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Fl
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not amazing, but very nice for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to celebrate our anniversary , and Gainesville does not have a lot of options for high end dinners. The decor is warm and high end, although I really had a hard time seeing my menu as it was so dark at our table. Our waitress, Jessica,was pleasant and helpful, and never intrusive. We never felt rushed, which is very important to us. The wine list was very nice and there was a large variety to choose from. We started with calamari which was pretty standard, felt heavily fried. We split the Original Bleu salad which was delicious with a light dressing. I had the Grouper Santa Fe which was lightly bronzed and served with lump crab. It was tasty and cooked well, nothing fabulous, but perhaps I should know to not order seafood at a steak house. My husband ordered the Delmonico, which was cooked to his specifications, and very tender and tasty. Jessica knew exactly which wine pared beautifully with the steak.We had the potatoes Lyonnaise which were lightly fried with carmelized onions- very good! Our waitress comped our dessert, Creme Brule as it was our anniversary, which was very nice of her and we appreciated that very much. Overall we had a wonderful experience , and would reccomend for a special occasion. Thank you Jessica .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricy imitation of Ruth's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've eaten here several times over the years and always come away satisfied but not amazed. Good service, very pricey for the quality of steak. It feels like they were trying to copy one of the chain steak houses. Not a lot to chose from in Gainesville when you want a steak.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Pouring rain outside but cozy at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

When we walked into Mark's we loved the look: Wood and leather and great old bar. We were just going to have a drink but James our bartender made us so welcome that we decided to stay for our dinner. So glad we did. We ate at the bar and split a chopped salad, a Delmonico steak, potatoes cooked in duck fat (yummo) and a creme brulee. Everything was delicious and cooked to our specifications. The house wine they pour is great. Many good restaurants are downtown and were near our hotel but we are very glad we chose Mark's.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The BEST Steakhouse in Gainesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not only does this restaurant deliver in the ambiance department, but the service is also not to be beat! The filet mignon just melts in your mouth, and the flavor of the steak is a perfect blend of the great beef with enough flavoring to enhance the beef, not hide the beef taste. The sides are also delicious, and there is many items on their menu, something for everyone.

If you have a special need for a special place for your date, definitely come here. My husband of 22 years and I always feel it is a special treat for us when we dine at Marks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mark's Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark's Prime Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.