We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Suites, Excellent Evening Reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Gainesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Fort Myers, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Suites, Excellent Evening Reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Located close to UF, which was our destination. Large 2 bedroom suite with 3 beds (1 king, 2 queens) is awesome for families. Evening reception was excellent - meatballs, sauce, hoagie rolls, salad bar, beer-wine-lemonade! No need to go out for dinner with this offering. Fitness Center is lacking, with no elliptical machine...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    65
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
102
30
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Its very simple, just change the name of this Homewood Suites to Conrad and its done. The people make this a 6 Star in my book. Thank you for a great room! 211 and awesome food, service, and staff! Only thing is change breakfast to 10 am.

God Bless!
Alan, Holly and Jaxon
Go Gators!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

very nice stay. I was there for a medical app. at the University of Fl. Shands hospital. While we were there my husband enjoyed all the amenities the hotel offered which were many. The staff was excellent. Other guests seemed very happy and enjoying themselves. Most of all the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I love staying at Homewood suites they are so comfortable. Having a separate livingroom area is so relaxing. and Monday thru Thursday you have the added convenience of the evening meal. Definitely a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is close to the I-75 off exit 384, very close to the Main road Archer Rd as well as many shopping centers and restaurants. Very close to many attractions such as the Florida Museum of Natural History where the famous "Butterfly Attraction" is. Also, 10 minutes away from Downtown and Main street. The front desk staff is very friendly and the facility's supervisor. The suite is typical to the Homewood suites chain in size and furniture. Not as spacious as the Embassy suites.
The worst part again is Housekeeping, no one comes unless you call and when they come they do not do much cleaning, one day we called several times all day and no one came then we got someone to come and delivered clean towels only. Also, we have seen some bugs around and advised the front desk staff and the Assistant manager Charles who was very upset about our bad experience and promised to take care of it, he also compensated us for one night and promised 10,000 points in my HH account. Will watch for that.
Breakfast is a joke, very limited and little.

If you are in the Gainesville, FL area for a day or two, it is OK to stay there but you also have lots of choices in this area. The only reason I choose this hotel is because of smoking and Hilton Honor membership that I belong to for years. The Hilton chain is becoming a smoke-free hotels and they make very hard for smokers to stay at any of their hotels which means I need to find another chain, that allows more smoking rooms if possible.

Room Tip: Away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quincy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Every time I visit Gainesville it is almost job related. The first two trips, I did not know about the Homewood Suites by Hilton. Since finding out about this hotel, I only make my reservations there. NO EXCEPTION!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Let's make this easy with a list.
--First rooms smelled strongly of dirty mop water and old cigarette smoke.
--Broken window locks in the bottom floor room.
--Carpets filthy.
--Upholstered furniture in rooms and curtains dirty, dusty.
--Caked dirt along baseboards in all three rooms.
--Old food under dining table.
--Mold in tub area around drain and controls
--Sticky handprints on closet door
--Iron surface sticky and brown
--Ironing board cover filthy
--Gunk on refrigerator and microwave door handles
--Outside trash receptacles and ashtrays overflowing in morning and through mid-afternoon on all four days
--Lobby area elevator dirty inside: walls, push panel, floor.
--Poor construction: insufficient insulation between floors. If you're not on the top floor, you'll hear everything that moves on the floor above.
--A/c incredibly loud. Large panel unsecured: filter inside disgustingly dirty.
--Housekeeping disregarded DND sign. Four days running.

The only Homewood Suites in Florida that's equally bad is located in Tallahassee. And not coincidentally, owned by the same franchisee.

Much better experience with the Hampton across Archer Road or even better, the incredibly wonderful Hampton in Ocala off SR 200.

This place has been a disappointment since prior to 2010.

But when you have to stay in Gainesville, it's usually the last to fill up.
Unless you're willing to chance staying at the Bambi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, General Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all feedback and utilize all information provided to deliver the best guest experience. In this case, I do apologize that we did not meet this expectation. All of your feedback has been shared with the staff of the hotel to ensure we meet and exceed guest expectations. We appreciate your business and we hope we have the opportunity to show you the best guest experience possible the next time you are in Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Address: 3333 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.