We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied Customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Gainesville to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Gainesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
quincy, United States
1 review
“Satisfied Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Every time I visit Gainesville it is almost job related. The first two trips, I did not know about the Homewood Suites by Hilton. Since finding out about this hotel, I only make my reservations there. NO EXCEPTION!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    88
    47
    20
    12
See reviews for
150
38
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Let's make this easy with a list.
--First rooms smelled strongly of dirty mop water and old cigarette smoke.
--Broken window locks in the bottom floor room.
--Carpets filthy.
--Upholstered furniture in rooms and curtains dirty, dusty.
--Caked dirt along baseboards in all three rooms.
--Old food under dining table.
--Mold in tub area around drain and controls
--Sticky handprints on closet door
--Iron surface sticky and brown
--Ironing board cover filthy
--Gunk on refrigerator and microwave door handles
--Outside trash receptacles and ashtrays overflowing in morning and through mid-afternoon on all four days
--Lobby area elevator dirty inside: walls, push panel, floor.
--Poor construction: insufficient insulation between floors. If you're not on the top floor, you'll hear everything that moves on the floor above.
--A/c incredibly loud. Large panel unsecured: filter inside disgustingly dirty.
--Housekeeping disregarded DND sign. Four days running.

The only Homewood Suites in Florida that's equally bad is located in Tallahassee. And not coincidentally, owned by the same franchisee.

Much better experience with the Hampton across Archer Road or even better, the incredibly wonderful Hampton in Ocala off SR 200.

This place has been a disappointment since prior to 2010.

But when you have to stay in Gainesville, it's usually the last to fill up.
Unless you're willing to chance staying at the Bambi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, General Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all feedback and utilize all information provided to deliver the best guest experience. In this case, I do apologize that we did not meet this expectation. All of your feedback has been shared with the staff of the hotel to ensure we meet and exceed guest expectations. We appreciate your business and we hope we have the opportunity to show you the best guest experience possible the next time you are in Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Homewood suites is a upper tier motel with a satisfactory collection of attractive features. The property is regularly upgraded and all conditions appear to be maintained. I've stayed at the property in excess of 100 nights and have never exercised my option of dissatisfaction. They always offer to zero a night's charge if there is a problem. The pool, hot tub, gym, and business center are easy to use. The items for sale are convenient when needed. Staff is helpful at check in and rarely takes more than a few minutes. When I've arrived earlier than expected they were still able to get me into a room. Cleaning crew appears to be very thorough and effective. I have not had any serious problems during any stay outside of a rare late night fire drill do to guest's error of hanging clothes on the sprinkler! Homewood Suites are frequently located near a Hilton Gardens and both are operated by Hilton. I believe that the Homewood Suites rooms are slightly larger and feature a more complete kitchen including microwave, icemaker, and dishwasher. I personally think that the breakfast at Hilton Gardens are slightly superior but Homewood Suites offer complimentary dinners.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a pleasant experience and except for a small hiccup upon arrival we had an uneventval stay. Hotel is situated close to shopping and interstste. Breakfast was plentiful. The room was large and had every thing you could want from a kitchenette to a small but comfortable living room. The parking was more than adequate and convienent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatchville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is in need of updating, and a good cleaning. The carpets were stained, and need to be replaced. The room was quite clean, better than the lobby, hallways, and food area. The breakfast food was just so so. With this said, the hotel is no worse than the other Hilton properties I have stayed in Florida. They all seem to be suffering from a lack of updating. Most likely due in part to the not so great economy ??

The employees were just super. Very polite, and helpful. Hats off to them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel sits in a nice quiet area with some beautiful big Oak trees. While our suite was very small and cramped, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We were traveling with our dog, and the area outside was very condusive to that. The complimentary breakfast has more than most place have as far as selection of food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin C, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Gainesville FL property. We love getting feedback from our guest and use it to improve our service and amenities. We hope the next time you visit Gainesville, FL we will be your first choice and if there is anything we can do to better your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Dustin Cash
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
dustin.cash@hilton.com
352-225-4760
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was my first trip to Gainesville and I wanted to stay close to the University of Florida. Great location and is close to shops. Very friendly staff. Always enjoy the dinner and breakfast offer. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles W, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a great reviw of your first time staying in Gainesville. I am very pleased to know that not only did you enjoy your stay with us but the beautiful city and all it has to offer. I hope that in the future should you return, you will once again allow us to be your "Home away from Home." Thank you so much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#1 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Address: 3333 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.