We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Gainesville to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Gainesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have found a really wonderful place to stay while in Gainesville. I have had a few previous stays here, and it just keeps getting better. If every hotel had a staff like this one, there would be no disgruntled travelers.
Everyone is so nice, but I want to pay a special compliment to Kenneth at the front desk, and of course, the assistant GM, Ashlie.
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenEnglish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback about the Homewood Suites in Gainesville. We are very excited that you have been enjoying your recent stays with us. We appreciate your business and we look forward to all your future trips! Kenneth and Ashlie say thank you for your wonderful comments and they will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Absolutely surprised when we checked in and the evening meal with complimentary beer and wine was still being served. In the morning, the breakfast hostess was absolutely outstanding, really understood the concept of excellent customer service. This wonderful attitude was also displayed by the housekeepers and front desk personnel.

We had never stayed at a Homewood Suites but will certainly do so in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Homewood Suites in Gainesville. We appreciate your feedback . We are very happy that you enjoyed our evening reception and our staff. We look forward to your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I picked up a business associate and we sat in the breakfast area and ate. Fiorella was in charge the days that we were there, and she was outstanding!! She is the most personable, concerned and caring restaurant employee I've ever seen, regardless of the restaurant.

The hotel overall was excellent also, as were all the employees we encountered, but Fiorella merited a special mention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I reserved a ground floor non-smoking king suite 1 month in advance. Upon arrival a 6:30 we were given a 4th floor smoking studio!! Check in was 4 so I can't believe there was a mass arrival. They basically over booked the place. My sons asthma did not fare well with the bad air.
Desk clerk said there was a soccer tournament and hotel was full.
Breakfast was ravaged by all the soccer moms and kids. No clean dishes or silverware. We were lucky to get a piece of fruit from the so called "full breakfast.I was given $30 off my stay so they knew they were wrong. I was not told of the 100% satisfaction deal or I would have asked for a refund.

Room Tip: I would call ahead to be sure you get the room you reserved . Better yet, go to another hotel. Gaine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwgator64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Cwgator64,

Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites in Gainesville. I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for disturbances you experienced during your recent stay. I have personally met the front desk team and the breakfast staff. We have reviewed your concerns with room types, the flow of breakfast, and most importantly our 100% satisfaction. We appreciate your business and ask that the next time you are in Gainesville you stay with us to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The walls between the rooms are way too thin. You will hear everything that goes on next door word for word -- tv, conversations, the person on the other end of a speaker phone conversation. I'm not a light sleeper, but even I had problems sleeping here. The one bright spot was the night manager on duty during our stay. He was very helpful. The lady that served the breakfast in the morning was a bit creepy though. I get that she was trying to be polite, but she was a bit too loud and intrusive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent trip to Gainesville. We strive hard to up uphold all the standards that Hilton in known for. In an effort to provide a comfortable stay, we will complete the recent renovation on the hotel by the end of this week. I apologize for the noise disturbance you had during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the staff and each staff member is committed to excellent service. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Gainesville, as we do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here so we could tour UF the next day. The hotel was fine, nothing special, nothing out of the ordinary. Check in was quick and efficient and the room was your basic hotel room. The problem we had was the beds. Very uncomfortable beds, we were exhausted and could not get comfortable. Most hotels these days have great beds, not here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLESarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel, your feedback is a huge contribution to our overall success. We apologize you found the beds uncomfortable. We are extremely excited about our renovation and new room package which will be finished in February and we hope you can enjoy during your next trip to Gainesville, FL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hilton properties tend to always have the best service available...but this property must not have received the memo. It didn't bother me that they were under renovation, what bothered me was that the service also seemed to be under renovation. Front desk didn't seem to care that I needed extra towels and wasn't helpful at all about dinner recommendations...cheer up sweetie your getting a paycheck. I overheard a female manager yelling at an employee at the front desk while I ate breakfast...completely unprofessional. I would have walked out if I were her, the manager needs to learn how to treat her employees before she has none. This place is a trainwreck!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager285, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the hotel. It is a major priority for each and every staff member to utilize the standards of service that Hilton has established for us, including managers. I understand that this did not happen during your stay, and I would like to apologize for that. We have recently hired some new staff members and we will certainly emphasize the standards that need to be upheld by Hilton. And I can assure you, the current staff will revisit this training as well. Please allow us the opportunity to show you that we can be a great staff in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#1 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Address: 3333 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing