We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do alot worse.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4015 SW 43rd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Margate, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You could do alot worse.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and had a pleasant stay. Rooms were clean and nice. Customer service at the desk was very good. The breakfast was average, and a bit of a madhouse. They do have an indoor pool which was taken over by insane children. We also arrived at 3pm to check in and had to wait for half an hour. But overall a nice place in a good location. The room was a bit pricey but I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl N, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
As you know, the time of your stay was a very busy time in Gainesville. I'm sorry that we fell short of our standards and that you had to wait to check in. I'm glad that your experience overall was a good one. I hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    73
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
121
46
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel provided everything I was looking for - very clean (from outside landscaping, to lobby, elevators, pool and room), very comfortable, and staffed by personable/helpful front desk employees.

The complimentary breakfast is well-stocked and more than one employee was working the breakfast room each morning while I was there - at times they helped bus tables (even though it's a clean-up-after-yourself set-up).

There was usually more than one person working the front desk, too, and questions and requests were handled courteously and efficiently. It was obvious that customer satisfaction mattered.

It is a cozy sort of place for being a chain, as others have noted - lobby cookies, tea, coffee; compimentary newspapers; fireplace; lending library. Also, as noted, very conveniently located - you can walk to the Cracker Barrel, drive to a zillion other near-by restaurants, both chains and local spots, markets, theatre, the University, etc.

Less than four hundred dollars for three nights (all various taxes included) seems a fair value to me. I will be returning to Gainesville and look forward to this being "home base" again.

(Note: The pool is in-doors, so not a place to sit in the sun in the summer months.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl N, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I'm so glad to hear all the wonderful things you had to say about our hotel. The entire staff works very hard to make this your "home away from home". I have printed your review for the staff to read as it is always nice to hear when you're doing a good job. It also helps motivate us to do an even better job the next time, so thank you for that. We all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has a cozy country inn feel. Usually stay Marriott so this was a nice surprise. The room was nice but candy wrappers from past guest were left on the floor. Although room looked clean the wrappers make it suspect to me. Bed was nice bit pillows and blanket are terrible. Bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was fair. The he naked cookies in the lobby were nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl N, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us. As a matter of fact, we have recently completed re-training with our housekeeping staff. We are working diligently to see that this doesn't happen again, as this does not hold up to our normal standards. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to make this up to you when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at many CI and S. This one of the best by far. The Queen suites are large and quiet despite being close to the highway. There are restaurants close. The breakfast was also very good
My only negative is that they do allow smoking in some rooms. I do not appreciate walking out of my room to the odor of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl N, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I'm glad you liked the room and enjoyed the breakfast. I hope you will visit our hotel again. I'm sorry you were bothered by the smell from the smoking rooms. When you make your next reservation, please comment that you wish to be away from any smoking rooms, that way we can be sure to assign you a room on a lower floor as our smoking rooms are all on the 6th floor. Again my apologies for that inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in town just for the night. Did not spend much time in the room. Check in was fast and the girls at the desk were very nice. The room was clean. I like the convenience of the mini fridge and microwave. The room was on the smaller side, but big enough to have 2 queens. You could tell they have updated things like the TV and counters in the bathroom, but there was room for more enhancements - like the big heavy yellow comforter on the bed and the wallpaper in the bathroom. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were small and too soft for my liking. The air was cold and the shower hot with good water pressure. The kids (a whole soccer team) loved the indoor pool and hot tub. We woke up late, so did not participate in the free breakfast. This hotel is conviently located off I-75 and Archer Road. There are a ton of restaurants and shopping in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl N, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We are constantly renovating and to be honest, the wallpaper in the bathrooms is on our list. It's great to hear how much the kids liked the pool. We are the only hotel in Gainesville with an indoor heated pool. We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Your comments are greatly appreciated, thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Overall good stay. We stayed here one night on our way home. Check in was easy, room was spacious and clean. Water pressure in the shower was good. Breakfast was good with varied options. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl N, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We strive to make your stay a cut above the rest, so your positive comments are truly appreciated. We hope to see you again on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place is right off the e-way. It's a little worn around the edges. One thing to watch is if you go on their website to make a reservation. If you switch off the page and then come back to finish your reservation make sure you recheck the dates you plan on reserving. A day before we left for our trip, we received a letter saying we missed our reservation. The letter stated the reservation was for the date we went into the website to make the reservation, not the date we wanted to stay at the hotel. Upon calling, the manager gave us a hard time when we tried to explain what happened. We called as soon as we noticed the reservation was in error, but did not have the person's name that told us not to worry, nothing was showing up on their system. The manager acted like if we didn't know the name of her employee, to check our story out with her, there was nothing she could do. I guess Patty never heard of the customer is always right. We asked if she was going to work with us on this or not. Her reply. "This sounds like a threat." WHAT? She finally comped us the room for the night reserved in question. If not for that, would not have stayed there. And in the future will not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your response and we appreciate you giving your thoughts. We value our guest and I hope you will visit us again in your future travels. I understand your frustrations about your reservation booking but we are open 24/7 and you are always welcome to call us to verify your reservations or ask us any questions you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville

Address: 4015 SW 43rd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites is conveniently located next to I-75 right off of exit 384. There are lots of restaurants close by with Cracker Barrel adjacent to the property. CI&S offers free breakfast, free WiFi, 24 hour business center, fitness center and the only indoor heated pool in Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Gainesville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Country Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.