We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4015 SW 43rd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Not even average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Our room was not clean. The bed linens looked slept in. There was no spare toilet paper in the bathroom. Some prior guests open Coke was in the fridge. No cookies on check in and no decaf in the morning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    99
    27
    16
    13
See reviews for
158
55
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have to make trips to Gainesville ever 2-3 months and we have always loved this hotel! Every time we go on trips now with the family we usually look for a Country Inn first as many of them have indoor pools and good breakfasts, which are great when traveling with kids!

Room Tip: They have a few jacuzzi hot tubs within a few rooms for that romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We appreciate our Guest too! We show pride in our hotel and all guest are greeted with a smile! Like you said we have different room types for all kinds of travelers. From a standard room up to a presidential suite. From a corporate business person to families, people visiting the hospital to visiting the University. Come by and see us we love to have you stay with us! Highly ranked by guest like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed here before & likely will again. Close to the interstate but far enough back that you can get a quiet room. The room was very nice & spacious. Lots of shopping & restaurants nearby. The breakfast is very good - all the usuals + bananas, apples, bacon, french toast, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, mixed fruit salad.

Room Tip: one end of this hotel is towards the interstate so it could possibly be have a problem with traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again. We are definitely located in a great spot with Cracker Barrel adjacent to us and on Archer Road and I-75. Close to many attractions and shopping outlets, hospitals and the University of Florida. You can't miss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews from trip advisor. I felt it was pricier than other hotel rooms in gainesville, but it being a football weekend I decided to book it. The hotel and grounds were nice and quiet, however we had issues with our room. There was "sticky blotches" all over the carpet next to the bed. Ugh!! We had to throw towels down so our feet wouldn't stick. The phone did not work. The next we discovered that our sheets were actually ripped! What maid would not notice putting on a ripped sheet? And we also found some kind of beetles in the room. I would suggest going to homewood suites nearby. We have stayed in Gainesville many times and this was our worst experience - especially for the price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Accept our humble apology. We take complaints very seriously and do act on it appropriately. We will look into some of the issues you have raised in your comments. Our hotel is exceptional in delivering good value and has always exceeded guest expectation. Our rates are competitive and in fact a lot lower then Homewood suites on football weekends. Above all, our hotel is rated higher then Homewood suites on tripadvisor.com. I personally assure you we will address the issues and fix them so no other guest will have similar experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Pierce
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We needed to take an unexpected trip to Gainesville,Florida to get our daughter from Shands Hospital. I had seen the Inn on our last trip and decided to call then direct for a last minute reservation.
A young lady,Katie, answered the phone and very professionally answered my questions and booked our reservation. I mentioned the reason for our trip and she immediately offered a rate, much lower, than a regular rate.
Upon checking in, the ladies at the front desk were absolutely wonderful.
The lobby was inviting open and airy. The elevators and hallways were clean and well lit. The room was clean and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. They offer a continental
breakfast. Coffee and tea along with cookies are offered anytime in the lobby.
This was very important since I am recovering from cancer surgery just 10 days ago.
Thank you "Counrty Inn of Gainesville" and your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank You for visiting us. We strive to make every guest very special and give them the BEST service they deserve. You our customers are very important to us and that is why our Front Desk Representatives are always ready to help our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here last weekend to visit family. Guest services were wonderful, breakfast was great and the room was clean and roomy. For a college town and it was the first game for the Gators, very friendly and clean. Will stay here again when I visit my family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Wonderful! We love to hear responses like this and look forward to seeing you again. Go Gators!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at this property strictly because of the Tripadvisor reviews, I normally would stay at The Hilton Conference Center property down the road.

Front desk staff were all friendly and efficient, i wanted extra towels and pillows and I received them right at the front desk to take to my room (I didn't mind). Free cookies at check-in and free breakfast in the morning downstairs. The hotel is located on the quiet corner of Archer Rd and I-75, In between a Cracker Barrel Restaurant and a Gas Station.

The bed is very comfortable with upgraded linens and bedding, decent pillows, great room darkening blinds on the window. Flat screen TV with decent cable selection. The hotel the night I stayed was very quiet, didn't hear any hallway noise (odd for any hotel!).

Plenty of free parking. I paid $111 for a Junior Suite, which basically is just a large room with a sitting area, no separate TV in the Junior Suite, only the one bedroom suite. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti1995, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment on Trip Advisor. I am glad you chose us for your stay. I hope you had a chance to sign up for our Club Carlson Reward Program so every time you stay you will get points. Hope to see you again on your next travels to Gainesville, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville

Address: 4015 SW 43rd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites is conveniently located next to I-75 right off of exit 384. There are lots of restaurants close by with Cracker Barrel adjacent to the property. CI&S offers free breakfast, free WiFi, 24 hour business center, fitness center and the only indoor heated pool in Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Gainesville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Country Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.