We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local pizza place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan
4131 NW 16th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32605
352.376.2001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 462 restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great local pizza place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Leo's always makes a high quality pizza and as with the other local (higher quality) pizza places in town, the prices are a little higher. Their deep dish pies and the garlic knots (soaked in butter) are great and both are available as wheat crust as well. The Big Leo is a staple food in our family. The salad bar is average, but the pizza makes the place what it is.

We have gotten take out the last several times we have gone, but past trips have always had good service as well.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    29
    17
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beechgrove, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Man, That's A Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Whenever we are in the Gainesville area to visit our grandchildren we always have at least one family night at Lenonardo's for their great pizza. Our all-time favorite is their three meat pizza, but you really can't go wrong with any selection. We have eaten pizza all over the world and I can honestly say that Leonardo's ranks up near the top. I only wish they were located closer to our home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“thick crust pizza is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Always stop here when in town to see my daughter.
great pizza, very good salad, fantastic rolls.
very laid back and casual.
My only complaint is that the front part of the restaurant is always uncomfortably hot.
Sit in the back room and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Gainesville tradition before of after the ballgame.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have eaten here with friends before or after Florida football games for more than two decades, and have eaten Leonardo's pizza at one location or another for 40 years. The restaurant is small but there always seems to be a table available. The atmosphere is rustic ... typical college town ... nothing fancy. We always order an extra pizza to eat cold on the trip home after the game. We live in NE Florida but NEVER fail to eat at "Leo's" whenever we come to town. Their deep-dish pizza reminds us of the original "Uno's" Pizzeria in Chicago. Don't miss eating here when you have a craving for delicious pizza.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedartown, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't judge this book by it's cover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I chose Leonardo's on my way through Gainesville to Orlando based on its reviews here on Tripadvisor.

Warning....you WILL BE UNDERWHELMED when you walk in the door. The decor is 30+ years old, the furniture is cheap, and the staff looks a little on the rough side. That being said, I had the best pizza I have EVER.......EVER.....had in my entire life here. The owner (Not named Leonardo) learned we came due to its TripAdvisor review and came to chat us up. He recommended Leo's Deep Dish, and we were not dissapointed at all.

He gave us a double-order of garlic rolls for the price of one. We were all grouchy and tired from driving six hours, but this place really changed the mood. GREAT food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan also viewed

 

Been to Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.