We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thick crust pizza is very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan
4131 NW 16th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32605
352.376.2001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 462 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“thick crust pizza is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Always stop here when in town to see my daughter.
great pizza, very good salad, fantastic rolls.
very laid back and casual.
My only complaint is that the front part of the restaurant is always uncomfortably hot.
Sit in the back room and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Gainesville tradition before of after the ballgame.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have eaten here with friends before or after Florida football games for more than two decades, and have eaten Leonardo's pizza at one location or another for 40 years. The restaurant is small but there always seems to be a table available. The atmosphere is rustic ... typical college town ... nothing fancy. We always order an extra pizza to eat cold on the trip home after the game. We live in NE Florida but NEVER fail to eat at "Leo's" whenever we come to town. Their deep-dish pizza reminds us of the original "Uno's" Pizzeria in Chicago. Don't miss eating here when you have a craving for delicious pizza.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedartown, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't judge this book by it's cover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I chose Leonardo's on my way through Gainesville to Orlando based on its reviews here on Tripadvisor.

Warning....you WILL BE UNDERWHELMED when you walk in the door. The decor is 30+ years old, the furniture is cheap, and the staff looks a little on the rough side. That being said, I had the best pizza I have EVER.......EVER.....had in my entire life here. The owner (Not named Leonardo) learned we came due to its TripAdvisor review and came to chat us up. He recommended Leo's Deep Dish, and we were not dissapointed at all.

He gave us a double-order of garlic rolls for the price of one. We were all grouchy and tired from driving six hours, but this place really changed the mood. GREAT food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Deep Dish Pizza Is the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Salad bar is so-so, entrees are OK, but the deep dish pizza is the best--loaded with goodies, fragrant, and baked just right.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cool, laid back place for all ages, great local spot too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I've been here 2 times now. Easy to order, cooked fresh, worth the wait!
Trying to visit your student at college, you can bring the friends here too. Excellent prices, serve a crowd! Great garlic rolls, good thin pizza, and of course, the deep dish pie. I never saw such a thick one in my life.You will not leave hungry here! Enjoy! Lots of seating, no waiting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan also viewed

 

Been to Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo's Pizza In A Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.