We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David's Real Pit BBQ

David's Real Pit BBQ
5121 NW 39th Avenue, #A, Gainesville, FL 32606
+1 352-373-2002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 432 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: David's Real Pit BBQ is Gainesville, Florida's best BBQ restaurant and catering service. Specializing in serving quality BBQ at a quick, convenient pace. Stop in for our mouth watering breakfast, lunch or dinner. Or have us cater your event, rehearsal dinner or wedding. We are a family friendly establishment so bring the kids.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definately go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Haven't been to David's in years and after countless blah meals at Sonnys decided to give it a try. The sliced pork was excellent, sliced beef really good too. Chicken had good flavor but a touch on the dry side. Overall a solid BBQ meal for less than what you pay at Sonnys. Will Definately be back more often.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort White
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We like BBQ so we tried this place. It was okay, the seating was not very comfortable - you order and pick up your food at the counter, get your own drinks and take the tray to a table. During our visit there were only a couple other people and they were out of some of the soft drinks, including the tea. I may try it again for take out, the food was good and the price was average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Working persons special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is good food, at a good price. I usually order the working persons special and add coleslaw to my BBQ sandwich. Not bad. The drive-thru can be a long wait though. Best to go inside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Love David's Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

David's is THE BEST for an inexpensive DELICIOUS breakfast! Try the scramble bowl with canyon cubes (potatoes) eggs your way, sausage gravy, your choice of meat, and CHEESE! So good. Pancakes are excellent, and as big or bigger than the plate. Cannot go wrong here! Plus the staff at the 13th st location are always smiling! $5 working mans plate on Mon and $2 bbq sandwiches on Tues too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very casual place with reasonable prices BBQ ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Orders serviced fast, generous portions, kids liked it, meats were on little bit dry side for me but overall good budget friendly place, worth to try it

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Real Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to David's Real Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David's Real Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.