We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Monkey Restaurant

Copper Monkey Restaurant
1702 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32603
352-374-4984
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 432 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Gainesville, Fl
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

If you are in midtown and feel like some good reasonable priced bar food check out this place. It is faster than the swamp and has some good deals. Used to have dollar burgers on mondays.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum... the burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Comfortable place to hang out! Burgers are awesome! Friendly staff. Would recommend to others!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great pregame hangout. Cheap lunch specials too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We like to go here because its smaller than your average college bar/restaurant, but that's what makes it a fun place to be. Try their buffalo chicken sandwich. It's typically oversized and fantastic. I prefer going here before a football game and/or grabbing something to eat prior to heading to a few bars across the street.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff & Best Burgs in town -- across from UF campus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have visited the friendly staff at Copper Monkey for many, many years and it never disappoints -- except when we are unable to squeeze into seats at the packed bar! Copper Monkey truly has the friendliest staff in town and the burgers are the best in Gainesville – bar none. And speaking of bars, there is not a finer one around – and it’s only a 10-minute walk from the stadium! Living in Cocoa Beach, we don’t get to Gainesville as often as we wish, but whenever we do, Copper Monkey is always on our list of places to see – especially during football season!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I don't get it. This place was horrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I went here with a few buddy's to watch a ball game. BIG MISTAKE. Bad service, bad food, horrible atmosphere. I guess I can see why the college crowd likes it, the food is cheap. But other than that I don't see any appeal at all.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Monkey Restaurant also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Copper Monkey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Monkey Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.