We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Italien Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia's

Amelia's
235 S. Main St., Suite 107 (Behind the Hippodrome), Gainesville, FL 32601
352-373-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amelia's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 462 restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Place and E. 1st Street
Indianola, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Italien Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

On a cross country trip, we found the best restaurant of our trip. The dining room was simple but elegant with starched white tablecloths and napkins. It was early on a rainy Sunday afternoon and we were immediately seated. The wait staff was clearly professional and knowledgeable about menu choices and gave us great suggestions. Our server was was friendly and attentive without being intrusive and the meal was exceptionally well paced. We ordered anti-pasta as an appetizer which was excellent. The house salad was fresh and the house vinaigrette dressing was tasty. I had the eggplant which was sliced paper thin and topped with their wonderful marinara sauce. It was probably the best I have ever tasted. My friends had the lobster ravioli, lasagna and chicken parmesan. All reported that their entrees were excellent. This was truly an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    80
    25
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ambiance and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our Investment Club held their annual dinner meeting at this restaurant. It was a pleasant evening so we sat outside overlooking a plaza. Very nice. We ordered appetizers and drinks and never felt rushed or like we were being ignored. Our dinners came and were delicious and the service was excellent. We talked about it for several months after and I would go back again if someone else was paying...it is a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Year after year GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going to Amelias for over 20 years and it is consistently great food and service with tasty specials. Full bar and nice wine list - Desserts OH MY! you have to try them!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great dinner at Amelia's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is our first winter living in the area from outside Albany NY which has many wonderful Italian restaurants, We were thinking we would not locate a similar experience here, but after last night's meal, I have to say it surpasses anything we have at "home". Our service was more than attentive, informative, personal and our server was extremely knowledgeable. The food was unbelievable, fresh: grouper, and a wonderful Veal Sorrento. The bread was amazing. Got a very reasonable bottle of wine, and overall it was a very good value. The chef himself came out to visit and he was personable and gracious. We had a terrific time, and a superlative meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Been back many times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very nice place, good food, and good value! We stop there for an early dinner before a show at the Hipp.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia's also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 
Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Amelia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.