We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, Average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewood Tavern & Grill - CLOSED

Stonewood Tavern & Grill
3812 W Newberry Rd, Gainesville, FL 32607-2341
352-379-5982
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service, Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went with a party of nine. The service was slow, They served one of us uncooked fish and it took 30 minutes to correct. The rest of us was almost finished. Very slow and they were not busy that night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for a party of two. Don't bring your kids.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere. The service was average. They did have some great food. My wife's steak was undercooked, but that was quickly remedied. They did not have a kids menu. Good for a party of two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Graduation dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant had a nice atmosphere, friendly service and very good food. I dined there with my parents for graduation weekend and although the place was busy, they accommodated a reservation and seated us promptly. The portions were generous. I recommend this place if you're looking for something a little more upscale in a college town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was my first time at the Stonewood Tavern. The decor was nice and the dim lighting gave it an intimate ambiance. The waiter, Luke, was exceptional. He was very pleasant, patient, and accommodating. We had a coupon which we forgot to present until after we had paid the bill, and Luke graciously corrected our bill.

We ordered a bottle of wine that we were not familiar with, and it was very good, but turned out to cost almost 3 times what it cost in the grocery store. I can understand that they need to make money, but that is a bit much. The prices of the food are decent, and you get plenty to eat. They provide you pretzel bread and cranberry rolls while you wait.

I had the shrimp and scallops, and I was satisfied with it overall. It came with risotto, and even though it tasted flavorful, it was a bit crunchy. Our party kept the table for quite a while, but we never felt pressured to hurry, nor did we feel that the level of service from our waiter changed.

The restroom was very clean and had a unique feature: a motion-sensor door so that you didn't have to touch the handle.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place for a birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We celebrated a couple birthdays and an anniversary all at one time and they brought out a sparkler lit ice cream for everyone...free. Dinner was delicious once we got a table. The booths make this a very private and intimate place to enjoy dinner. Prices are a bit high so we don't go often. It is near a theatre so it is good for dinner before or after a movie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewood Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.