We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality, good variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewood Tavern & Grill - CLOSED

Stonewood Tavern & Grill
3812 W Newberry Rd, Gainesville, FL 32607-2341
352-379-5982
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistent quality, good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our "go-to" restaurant when we know our party would prefer to choose from a variety of food types. Quiet atmosphere and gentle lighting, excellent and friendly staff, and the food comes out fresh, hot, and tasty. The booths are comfortable for my 90-year-old mom and dad, and I personally love the wine specials! Join the Stonewood Club and get $15 off a $30 purchase for one-time use, plus a free dessert on your birthday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was there last night with a party of 14. We dine out once a month. Frequently we have average to sometimes poor service since we are a large group. The service at Stonewood was excellent. Since their portions are large, I asked if my husband and I could split the 9 oz. filet. They were happy to accomodate us and it was plenty of food. The filet was cooked just right and delicious. I do think that their wine list is a little pricey. Fortunately, we arrived a little before 7pm and were able to order a bottle of wine at half price. It was a great meal with great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT SPOT IN G VILLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We eat here every time we come to see our son. Great food, good staff and lots of fun. Brittany was our waitress and made our evening all the more enjoyable. She was right on with good food suggestion.

Thanks so much...
Donna Moran and Mark Schacht

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I went here while in town and were greeted with great staff and delightful food. It was a little more pricey, but the taste was well worth it! Looking forward to our next trip to Gainesville so we can try some other things.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I dont know why people like this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I'm baffled. This place is praised amongst friends. It a lame steakhouse. We ordered 2 steaks, sauces, bruschetta, and 1 glass of wine. The bill was over $100 bucks. The waitress made everything appear better a calling this "special." "Special bruschetta." I've been to italy, that texas toast with tomatoes is NOT bruschetta. The steak was fine but the side vegetable looked like something a young child had made. And dont sprinkled crap all over the plate. Classy restaurant dont do that anymore. Wine was good though. I'll give you that.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewood Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.