We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Charm

Southern Charm
East University, Gainesville, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 461 restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went for a birthday dinner and had waffles and chicken--both were great. Looking forward to returning and trying other menu choices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    12
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“I wish I had a bigger appetite (and I eat a LOT!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A friend who's a bartender in town (at the bull) told us if we want this kinda food we gotta go here. And yeah I'm stoked we did. Had the coconut mint julep which was so good. Then the tart followed by catfish and fried chicken.... Amazing! Thanks for the great food and service!
Andrew
Australia

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing food a little outside of the city centre. Both our choices of chicken were super good and came with a bunch of sides. Small but good beer selection. The final coconut/pecan pie was delicious. Waitress Corina was also very very nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldo, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yes! They can do Vegetarian with a Southern Twist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went for a Sunday Brunch. The place does fill up quickly - and there is definitely a reason for that. I had the BBQ Tempeh with Greens and Mac and Cheese for sides. ALL were absolutely excellent. This stuff is not frozen stuff nuked just before serving. It takes a few minutes more for them to serve you freshly prepared entrees, but well worth the wait. Eclectic beer selection and some excellent wines are available. The Southern Charm Kitchen will go to the top of my preferred restaurants in Gainesville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great southern food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Slightly out of the way - but a great little place for a weekend breakfast/brunch!

The restaurant has a very nice menu - try the sorghum ribs and the creole style shrimp and grits! Bbq goat didn't quite make the mark in my opinion. Also try the black bean fritters as an appetizer. Service is good - but may be slow at times.

My biggest complaint is that they don't serve coffee or tea! And I do like to have coffee with my breakfast! (The owners also own/operate the Reggae Shack café and they don't serve coffee there either!)

In any case, you will get a very nice meal at a very decent price. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Charm also viewed

 

Been to Southern Charm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Charm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.