We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Average...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
3410 SW Archer Road, Gainesville, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 461 restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“VERY Average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After reading some reviews before heading out for some Mexican food and cold beer while In Gainesville for business, I decided to give Chuy's a try.

I got a combo platter which had a little of everything but it was hard to say that anything stood out as memorable. It was a good-sized portion and the tortilla chips were tasty. The Modelo Especials beer was ice-cold which was good.

The service was 'average to good' - nothing particularly bad just nothing really good - all about average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    37
    31
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Met some friends last evening for dinner and had a great time. Food was fresh and hot, service was fast and courteous, portions were HUGE. Plan on a to go box. Will definitely be going back and will recommend to friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewett
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great Mexican food at very reasonable prices. So far in the multiple times I have eaten there I have yet to find a plate I didn't like...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Enjoyable dinner at Chuey's. Food was very good and reasonably priced. 4 adults, 1 & 3 year old. 3 year old was entertained watching them make the taco/tortilla shells. Waitress brought soft shell for the 1 year old to chew on. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Look forward to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We drive an hour to eat at Chuys when we are in Gainesville and today has been very disappointing to say the least! We had to wait several minutes before being seated and have now been here over an hour and still do not have our food. Our server told us the manager would come and see us about the wait but we have not seen him. Not sure if we will be back after this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.