We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakery Mill and Deli

Bakery Mill and Deli
1143 NW 76th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606
352-331-3354
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 468 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Longwood, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Big yum muffins and great sausage gravy. Had breakfast there Sat am after night out, it helped me become human again, Server filled coffee before I needed to ask.......

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I called in and I ordered a carrot cake for my daughter’s birthday. The person answering the phone was very nice and the order was taken in a respectful manner.

I arrived at the bakery around 2:30 pm to pick up the cake. The cake was ready to go packed in a very flimsy box. I asked the lady that waited on me to open up the box in order for me to preview the cake, so she did. The cake looked nice; all it was missing is the traditional happy birthday statement on it. I asked the young lady if someone can write on the cake “HAPPY BIRTHDAY” she stated “no the bakery is closed down for the day and no one was there to do so”. I responded by saying do you sell the paper funnel with the icing in it and I will write the statement on it. She responded with a look indicating apparent disgust with me “no we don’t you heard me, I already told you so”. I said I was wishing not demanding and no need to be disrespectful. She called another server and asked her to finish the transaction and hastily walked away.

I was in a bind since my daughter and the family was waiting on the cake. My daughter is pregnant and she asked for the carrot cake. I should have walked out and never bought the cake. However, I did to please the crowd and took the cake home without the “Happy Birthday” statement. I asked for the manager and there was no management on the premises, I asked how can I reach a manager and I was told you can find the manager at a number she provided on a business card that she gave me with the receipt. I called as soon as I left the store to find out that the number she gave me was the store not the office number. SO I DECIDED TO WRITE THE REVIEW.

When people own a small business certain courtesies should apply. Staff must work harder on being nice to customers especially the ones that frequent the place approximately once a month or so. In plain English, suck up to the customer don’t turn them off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Food was fresh and tasty.
Had a grilled ham and three cheese sandwich- above average in taste. Same for our griled veggie sandwich made up of two cheeses, zucchini , lettuce and tomato.
Good coffee.
Plenty of desert choices in a nice display case.
Nothing special with the seating etc.
Noticed a steady flow of customers getting to go orders.
Parking was very convenient.
We'd make it a regular stop if we lived nearby.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Great menu, friendly people and plenty of parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The bakery Mill and Deli is a small place, well-run and worth driving up the hill for.

The service is always friendly and one really gets the impression they are happy to serve you.

The menu is varied - salads, sandwiches and bakery items. The grilled cheese is made with three cheeses and, if you like, with jalapeños on it. It is melty and yummy. The salads are very good and come with a side. (Try the side of fruit - it's cut up and a good variety of fruit).

While you're waiting you can look over at the bakery display and decide what you want for dessert - it's a big selection and their cakes are enormous.

This a default lunch spot for us. We've been back, and back, and back some more - never disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakery Mill and Deli also viewed

 

Been to Bakery Mill and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakery Mill and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.