We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, beautiful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Laurel Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Laurel Oak Inn
Save
You added The Laurel Oak Inn to your Saves list
221 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house, beautiful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The best B&B I have been to. Such attention to detail. Great breakfasts. Super hospitality. We went there without knowing anything about it and were so pleasantly surprised. It is a beautifully restored house from 1885 but the thing that makes it is Monta and Peggy. They are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
106
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I had a memorable stay there this past weekend. A really outstanding, gourmet breakfast was served in the morning along with wine, cheese, and crackers in the afternoon. Owner's Peggy and Monta really go out of there way to make sure you have a great visit. While there, we took in a theater performance at the Hippodrome Theatre which was only a short walk from this B&B-- another benefit of this location. Great visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Laurel Oak Inn proprietors, Monta and Peggy Burt are wonderful. They treat you like you are a family member and make your stay relaxing. They have lived in Gainesville for a long time and are well connected to the community and its many good places to visit. The house is a masterpiece in its preservation of the old and the integration of the new. Claw foot tubs (in a couple of the rooms), lace curtains, quilts mixed with a modern kitchen to die for. It's fun just walking through and checking out the antiques and the appointments. I have stayed in three different rooms, all of which are great. This is where I will stay whenever I come to Gainesville -- I highly recommend you do the same!

Room Tip: The library is on the ground floor and has a walk-in shower. Easy if you have trouble with steps and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Manta and Peggy make you feel at home -- better than home. As a business traveler I have stayed at probably all the B n B's in the region and this is the friendliest. The hosts are extremely kind and gracious. I have brought my whole family here over the years and I look forward to our annual visits to the Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We felt very comfortable at The Laurel Oak Inn, thanks to the graciousness of our very nice host, Monta Burt. The Inn is very inviting, both on the outside and inside. Our breakfast was over the top delicious. No detail was overlooked, including a variety of freshly made juices down to the fresh rosemary garnishment from the garden. Mont even fed my dad, who was not a guest at the Inn.
The rooms are very clean and fresh and it was so nice to relax in the clawfoot tub with homemade soaking salts. The bed was very comfortable with high thread count linens. The Burts think of your every need and had top line product (body wash, shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer) available to us.
The Inn is located very close to The University of Florida and it is easy to get to the campus from there.
I can not even think of a suggestion that would have made our stay any more pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at The Laurel Oak Inn and stayed in The Library room. What a fantastic experience! Our hosts, Peggy and Monta, set the bar high with their beautiful 1885 Victorian home. We really felt as though we were honored guests in their home. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the door and given a tour of the common areas and our room. Once we were settled, Monta welcomed us with wine and snacks as we sat on one of the lovely verandas.
I enjoyed looking at some of the "before and after" photos during the restoration of the Inn. It is just beautiful and so relaxing. Our breakfast each morning was delightful using only the freshest ingredients. We look forward to staying with Peggy and Monta during next football season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely time and plan to return to spend two or three days. (We were just passing through this trip and booked the Laurel sight unseen. Naturally we were more than pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Laurel Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurel Oak Inn

Address: 221 SE Seventh Street, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior lodging in an uncluttered, meticulously maintained eco-friendly environment.Uncompromised service blended with warmth and attention to detail. Located blocks from the core of Gainesville's vibrant downtown and nestled in a quiet, residential (and historic!) neighborhood one mile from the eastern edge of the University of Florida campus.Rates range from $125 to $199 per evening. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laurel Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.