We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Gainesville to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Friedens, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Looks can be deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Unfortunately we made a trip to the nearby VA hospital. Booking this hotel online, I thought it was beautiful. Entering our room not so much. Leaving to take my WWII vet grandfather to hospice there was no refund for the night we did not stay as it was after 11 am, like I knew we would be heavy-hearted and headed for hospice. Rooms are outdated,but you get what you pay for. Free breakfast was packaged muffins, bread, and bagels. nothing hot and fresh. Mr. Patel seemed sincere the evening we arrived, however the lady that checked us out was not empathetic at all to our situation.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    40
    22
    8
See reviews for
80
32
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to stay somewhere near Gainesville Fl airport. I read the reviews of other hotels and chose Howard Johnson's because of the good reviews. When I arrived the staff was very friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable. I loved how the bath mat was hanging over the side of the tub with a washcloth was folded in a fan shape, very nice touch. I forgot my tooth paste and they even had complementary tooth paste. I will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A reasonably priced hotel near UF, exactly what I needed. Not fancy, does the job: nice room, breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel to Gainesville usually once a month, and stay here each time. It is not fancy, but it feels inviting each trip. The Patels are welcoming, and always making improvements. I can unload right next to my room, and love the coffee maker, frig and microwave in the room. This is a deal!!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel during your visits to Gainesville. We kindly thank you for your feedback, and we value your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, but there was a stuffy odor to the room. Fortunately, there was a screened window that we opened to let in fresh air. The location and setting was very nice. I think they could re-look at their breakfast offerings. A few fresh items such as English muffins, toast, yogurt would have been preferable to the packaged items available. There was no fruit juice. Microwave and refrigerator in room a plus. A few things in the room were in need of repair.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time our of your day to supply a review of your stay with us. We are happy you found the room comfortable and the setting agreeable. We do our best to turn the A/C on before guests arrive and apologize for the stale air in your room. We are glad you were able to solve the problem relatively easily. Our staff is always available to assist with issues such as these. We are happy to say that we do offer yogurt, bagels and both apple and orange juice with our continental breakfast. We also offer fresh fruit and oatmeal for those looking for healthier options. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will consider staying with again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Address: 3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.