We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked the desk and chair in the corner. the desk chair...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Baton Rouge
1 review
“I liked the desk and chair in the corner. the desk chair...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I liked the desk and chair in the corner.
the desk chair was comfortable. I also liked that I could get a room with one king sized bed. I also liked that there was a microwave and refridgerator in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your king size room with the desk and chair. The furnishings are new and we are glad that you found them to be comfortable. All of our rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker and I am pleased that you enjoyed them also. Thank you again, for choosing to stay at the Howard Johnson Gainesville and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    35
    21
    8
See reviews for
75
28
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here with my parents and this place was amazing. My mother is in a wheelchair with MS and my father is also handicapped. The rooms were more than accomodating and the staff was amazing. I would recommend this hotel anytime you travel through Gainesville. Everything was clean and comfortable. We LOVED it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are pleased that you and your parents were comfortable during your stay and that you found our staff "amazing". Thank you for your recommendation, it is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deatsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were just there and have stayed at several other motels in area and by far this is the best. We found it to be very clean and confortable the management was very friendly and helpful.
There is not enough I can say about it we just booked for next year when I go back to the doctors. It was that good convient to everything and easy to get around to places.
They go out of their way for you. Thanks to Paul and Jody and all the people that work there
The Pratts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and there was not a lot of excess noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Howard Johnson Gainesville. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and review. We are pleased that you were happy with your room, our location and staff. We try very hard to make our hotel a home away from home for all of our guests. We really enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Gainesville. Thank you again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was a very nice place to stay! There was enough room for my three little kids, my husband and I. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and more then helpful! I was not disappointed in my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are delighted that you found your room clean, comfortable and our staff friendly. It was our pleasure to have you and your precious children here as our guest. We greatly appreciate your recommendation for future guest and welcome you here anytime you visit Gainesville. Diablo our fish says "Hello".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Address: 3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Gainesville 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.