We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Its ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

the room in general was very clean, but the head board was very dusty and gross on the top and you could play peek a boo through the ripped sower curtain. The only thing that I can really say that was bad was that the room did have a bit of an odor that we couldn't quite place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent stay in Gainesville and for providing us with your feedback. I am glad that you found your room to be clean but am truly apologetic that you found your headboard dusty and your shower curtain lacking. That is unacceptable and I am truly sorry. I would like to tell you that since your recent stay, all our guests rooms have upgraded with new furniture. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we provide clean, comfortable rooms at a great rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    28
    19
    7
See reviews for
57
23
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This room was fine for 2 of us, but if my family had been here it would have been too cramped. The beds were comfortable and clean, the hotel is older, but fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parnell, iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

While staying in the Howard Johnson in Gainesville, the Desk clerk Paul and the entire staff made us feel very welcome. , The whole place was very clean and well maintained.
The room was very comfortable and clean. Also, it was very quiet. the complimentery breakfast was very filling.. we plan on staying there the next time we are in Gainesvill to to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for thaking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us. Your positive comments about our property, your room, staff, and our breakfast are greatly appreciated. We would love to have you as our guests in the future. If there is anything I can do to help plan your next visit, please feel free to contact me for assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson
Address: 3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#18 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Gainesville 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.