We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Gainesville to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    40
    21
    8
See reviews for
79
32
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
parnell, iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

While staying in the Howard Johnson in Gainesville, the Desk clerk Paul and the entire staff made us feel very welcome. , The whole place was very clean and well maintained.
The room was very comfortable and clean. Also, it was very quiet. the complimentery breakfast was very filling.. we plan on staying there the next time we are in Gainesvill to to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for thaking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us. Your positive comments about our property, your room, staff, and our breakfast are greatly appreciated. We would love to have you as our guests in the future. If there is anything I can do to help plan your next visit, please feel free to contact me for assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, close to U.F. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. Also, it was very quiet. There are sidewalks just outside the hotel, so you can walk to the university or shopping. The hotel is on a large tract of property and there was no road noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip to Gainesville. It's very pleasing to know you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, our staff friendly and helpful, and our location to be great! We strive to provide a great stay at a great rate. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While staying at HoJo in Gainseville, the desk cleark, Paul, made us feel very welcome and he was very thorough in the registration process. In room 114, where we stayed, it smelled clean and everything we needed was at our fingertips. The bed was comfortable, it was well lite and the complimentary breakfast meal was filling. Pau recommended us to the restaurant next door where the food was excellent and at a reasonable price. We intend on going back to this location whenever we are passing through again from Ga to Orlando, FL Thanks Paul for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austell, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to Orlando the previous night and stayed in a Days Inn (They were out of room keys), so we decided to go get some dinner and come back for our key. We were alarmed by the smelly, stained carpets, no internet access though advertised, and no hot water. We decided to check out that morning and spend the next night at a HoJo Express. We drove two hours and decided to stay in Gainesville after spending the day at one of the Orlando attractions on the way back to Atlanta. When we walked into the room, we were greeted by the smell of fresh linen, air freshners, heat, and many other wonderful benefits the previous inn lacked. Our hot water was Extra Hot. Our continental breakfast was fresh and not picked over.PAUL THE INN KEEPER WAS AWESOME!!!! We had no complaints about any aspect of our stay. He even gave us the kind of room we requested (the previous experience we were told we could not have a downstairs room after driving for 7 hours). Since we had been walking all day looking at attractions and driving for two hours the last thing we wanted was to lug our belongings up flights of stairs. Paul thank you for your curteousness and kindness. EVERYBODY SHOULD GO HERE if you ever go to Gainesville.

Room Tip: Againeverybody should go here if ever go to Gainesville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, breakfast and staff. We always try to meet our guests request concerning room preferance and was delighted that we could meet yours. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Address: 3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.