We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Gainesville to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean Room Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good place to stay, room was clean, very comfortable bed. Kirsten at the desk was very helpful when we checked in, not sure if the night guy actually spoke english, he nodded his head alot. Nice hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    77
    42
    22
    8
See reviews for
83
34
25
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This room was disgusting. Smelled like mold, and cigarettes. Went back in to get a refund and staff refused to give a full refund after we were only there for 5 minutes. We had to argue with them to refund us and they still ended up charging us 20.00 for the 5 minutes we were there. Please do not waste your time or money here. This was the worse experience I have ever had a hotel. Totally disrespectful staff. As I am dealing with a medical emergency and did not need this type of treatment they gave us. Horrible is the nicest way I can put it without cursing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
This guest requested a smoking room. This guest was even shown the rooms prior to checking in. After an hour or more the guest returns to the front desk and demands a full refund. Though upon check in the guest signed the room agreement and check-in form that clearly states after ten minutes you will be charged a full nights rent regardless of how long you then stay in the room afterwords. The guest was unhappy and management offered for the guest to move to a different room. The guest refuses the offer and again demands a full refund. The hotel staff did all they could to accommodate this guest but to no avail. All guests are allowed to relocate to another room if their room for any reason is unsatisfactory, and after 10 minutes or less in any one of these rooms, if an acceptable location is still not accepted by the guest, the guest is entitled to a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful.The hotel was easy to get too. The room was clean and very nice. There was a microwave,refrigerator and coffee maker with a hair dryer also. My stay was enjoyable and we will stay there again when we are in Gainesville.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

The room we had was clean and comfortable. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure you were happy with your room. The continental breakfast, while a little sparse, at least got you going with coffee, juice, cereal, and a small assortment of packaged bagels, etc. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAYCROSS
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We were not happy with this hotel. We have stayed in Howard Johnson's before and this was a disappointment. There was a hole in the floor between the bed and bathroon. There were black curly hairs in the towels and long black hairs in the tub. If you put your hjand on the shower wall to stel into the tub, it would cave in and make you fall. The TV wouldn't work, so I called management and he finally came up and had to reset the tv, so it would work. Noisy hotel. Sewing kit they offer is a little box of about 8-10 little rolls of thread you can borrow, but have to bring back. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patel58, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We apologize for this guests stay, we have since been beautifully remodeled and have replaced the old beds with new ones, we have new bedspreads, new carpet, new room interiors and new exterior of the property as well. This guest has been invited back to experience the NEW Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

I honestly i thought this hotel would be decent. I was told that I could check in after 4pm with no penalty multiple times over the phone. Well, that was false! After getting in the front office, I was told that I would have to leave my credit card with them! Also, there's this paper with SMALL writing/print. What hotel is there that won't allow you to have guests after 8 pm? He called the cops just because of that! But NO elevator, the ONLY ice machine that was there didn't work, and kids shouldn't be helping to serve the guests... The light had to be changed AFTER going into my room, the towel rack wasn't sturday, and I won't choose to stay here anymore, and I recommend anyone else to do the same.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the inconveniences of your stay. We do have a security officer that patrols our grounds to make guests feel at ease, he was not called on your behalf. We are a quiet hotel and we do not allow large parties in the rooms, you are allowed to have guests, but we do charge per guest staying in the room and up to only 5 people. [Only five are allowed in any room due to fire codes]
We do not have an elevator because we are only a two story hotel, there is no need for an elevator, for those who can not climb stairs there is the ground floor.
I apologize about the lights and towel rack; we have been fully remodeled since your stay. Please feel free to come and join us for another night, we would love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I recently stayed at this HO JO in Gainesville. we had booked 3 rooms with the hotel. Upon checking all three rooms had a bad smell to them. The carpet was stained and soiled in many spots. THe hotel clims to have been renovated and remodeld 2 years gao but teh linens and bed prove otherwise. In two of our three room the bed were worn down to the springs. The shets were worn so thin they had holes. I was disgusted to put my head on teh pillow care or pillow for that matter. More so, the springs were so bad i had to ask fo a pillow to pad my side form teh springs and i was told the hotel didn't have any extra pillows. They did somewhow scounge up three but those were the oldes and gross pillows i have ever sen. I am not comparing this to a five star hotel i am comparing it to any other HO JO. to make matters worse the fire alam in one room was runnign on a lowbattery and beeped though out the night. The folowing day we asked for the battery to be changed and they were unable to give us a new battery. The guest service agent handed us a used battery and told us to replace it. Of course when we did the alarm still beeped becasue that battery was also low.

More so the staff was not friendly. They will not bring anything to you, you must go get it and the two members incountered were rude.

Over all this hotel is not worth you stay. However some may get left with noe choice when Gainesville is busy and every where else is booked booked because no one wants to stay here unless they can't get anyother room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I greatly apologize about your stay in 2009. In late 2010 we were completely remodeled and received new carpets, new beds, new bedding, as well as a new roof, and appliances in the rooms. Our façade have even been updated and now reflects a more modern look. We have also changed staff and would love to welcome you back to this new and improved Howard Johnson of Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Gainesville

Address: 3820 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.