We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokehouse Downtown Barbeque - CLOSED

Smokehouse Downtown Barbeque
104 South Main Street, Gainesville, FL 32601
352.505.0352
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nachos are a must they are the most delicious bbq nachos i've had ever, I mean usually BBQ & nachos are a weird combo in my head, but it was so good, they grow their own veggies, so the corn was fresh and delicious, the pork was yummy.
the ribs were really good too, lots of food, the beans were delicious, all the sides were amazing I went there in july , and i'm still thinking about the food

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly but inefficient service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have visited here on a Saturday night. The food was very good. Best choices are those of smoked meats, as they smoke their own. The service was very friendly, but quite inefficient. We started with a Brunswick stew, expecting it to be great from their own smoker, but it never arrived. Fortunately, we sat by the server's station and were able to serve ourselves with water, as our glasses were never refilled. Even though many tables were empty, the servers seemed to be milling around empty handed while we were waiting and waiting. Also, being Saturday, no happy hour, beer being well overpriced. Would think twice before returning, because the food was really good, but the service.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A great place to eat! Good atmosphere and surprisingly great food! The was plenty to eat and the food was perfectly prepared.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, RESTAURANT, AND LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were in town for the day and my son suggested we try this "bar b que" restaurant. From the time we walked in we were greeted with friendly staff. Food was quickly served and was delicious. The bar b que nachos seemed like an odd combination but were amazing!! My son devoured his pork slider and side of mac n cheese. He said "This place is way better than Chick Fil A!".....from a 5 year old-this meant he loved the restaurant. He told me over and over that I was welcome for him finding such a good restaurant! Whenever we are in town, we will surely eat here again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed BBQ Fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our group of 7 was really looking forward to our night out at the Smokehouse. Several local friends had suggested the restaurant. We love the downtown area and usually try to dine there when we are in town. We were seated quickly and our server took our drink orders right away. Smokehouse has a good looking menu with a nice variety of BBQ items and we were all hungry. Our entire table had decided on Rib Platters....that is until our server returned to tell us they were OUT OF RIBS. Really?
How can you expect to be a successful BBQ restaurant when you run out of ribs at 8:30pm on a Saturday night. We all decided to make the best of it and the Manager actually comped our 1st round of drinks. The rest of the evening was a disaster. Two plates of food COLD. Sent back and still not even warm. Crunchy grits. Extremely bland pulled pork and tough brisket. A bone in the pulled chicken sandwich. However, the zucchini fries were awesome and the BBQ Cuban sandwich was really good too.
The Manager had more excuses than sauces.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokehouse Downtown Barbeque also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokehouse Downtown Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.