We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PIZZA EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo's Pizza by the Slice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Leonardo's Pizza by the Slice
1245 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5109
352-375-2007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 470 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST PIZZA EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thick fluffy crust, flavorful sauce, perfect pizza. Right across the street from my favorite hotel too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontheroadagn7
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Just like old times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Same location as when I was in school and the same great pizza! Fun to show my son another place I would frequent while in college.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nasty attitudes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I can't say enough about the food here; it is absolutely incredible. Vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, build your own, salad, salad dressing, the rolls, the sauce...it's all out of this world. The staff (usually the women) that work the counter are rude, snarky, snippy, and just generally unpleasant. I go frequently but I always prepare myself for the bad attitudes first. The people who work in the back are generally really friendly and will often bring your pizza to your table. I love that they have beer available and I love that you can sit inside or outside. Ditch the attitudes, ladies, it's just bad business and it makes you look bitter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“its better than dominos.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This restaurant is a hit or miss. The only good thing on the menu is the NY slice, because all of the toppings, pepperoni included, are terrible here. The stoners working there lose track of time when heating up your slice so there is little consistency. When done right, their cheese pizza is really good. Salads here are not worth the price, and the dressings are awful with the exception of caesar, but its not really possible to mess that one up. A slice is about $3 by the way and it comes out pretty quick. Leos is connected to Bistro 1245 which has much better food but the same lazy i hate my job type staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Pizza, Salads, and Calzones in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Leonardos by the Slice is a Slice of Gainesville. It's a true college town hangout, but don't let that stop you from bringing your family. The food is amazing and the staff are always professional and helpful. The atmosphere is what I think of when I'm looking for casual college pizza experience. Our kids love the place and we bring many friends on our traditional Saturday Lunch. Introduce yourself to the owner, Mr. Solomon. He's one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pizza by the Slice also viewed

 

Been to Leonardo's Pizza by the Slice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo's Pizza by the Slice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.