We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Cork'd

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Half Cork'd
116 SE 1st Street, Gainesville, FL
3525195221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 461 restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Description: "Premium wine, beer and bubbles bar".
Restaurant details
Description: "Premium wine, beer and bubbles bar".
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Half Cork'd is a great place for those of us that are new to the world of wines. I truely enjoyed trying a bunch of different wines from different regions. I felt very comfortable being able to just pick one of the many different ones and just trying an ounce. Once I found my favorite, I was able to buy a bottle to take home. AWESOME!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    14
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I met some friends there for wine. Great atmosphere with the ability to talk with our friends without loud music. Great selections of various wines and champagnes. Really relaxing and comfortable as well as classy. We will be back for the liquor tastings and wine classes. I would highly recommend Half Cork'd to anyone and everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake City, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Neat Place for Wine Enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located right on a corner amid an assortment of other bars & restaurants and just a block down from the Hipp Theater. They have complimentary Valet parking til 11:30 and no they don't mind if you go elsewhere as long as you do pop-in with them at some point. The concept of this place is great. They have a couple dozen assorted wines "on tap". You purchase a card for $5, which is registered and never expires. You then put as much as you want on the card and you simply walk around, decide which wine you would like, insert the card into the dispenser and choose Taste( 1oz.) Half Glass( 3oz.) or Full Glass( 6oz. ). Prices vary greatly depending on the wines. I sampled many by using the Taste feature and they ranged anywhere from $1.45 to $15.00 but the majority at the lower end of that. They also have at least one dispenser I saw that had Bourbon, Vodka & Gin. They have a bar where you may order other types of wine and beer as well as a nice selection of "nibbles"; meat, cheese platters and some warm dip type foods. The staff is great. Friendly and knowledgeable, making you feel comfortable and welcome. If you are in any way a wine enthusiast, curious or just looking for a neat little place to take a few friends, i don't think you would go wrong with this place. P.S>. I myself am not that into wine, my wife is, but I greatly enjoyed this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great addition to Gainesville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I went over to Half Cork'd last night with another couple and we all were pleasantly surprised. The wind bar features a myriad of computerized machines that dispense a full glass, half glass, or taste of wine. You put money on your card and then simple place your card in the machine and select how much wine you want. This was great! The decor and seating in the wine bar is amazing and has very clean bathrooms. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Addition to Downtown Gainesville!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

How fun, to walk in, grab a glass and get a taste, half, or full glass. Here's your chance to try a rare--and expensive--wine! All you do is buy a card, and replenish it as needed. The rest is up to you--wander around, sample this and that, sit with friends. It's a nice setting, very different from the other bars in the area. Love it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Cork'd also viewed

 

Been to Half Cork'd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Cork'd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.