We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Gainesville

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Lodge at Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Stuart, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I requested and received a first floor room. Although the first floor lounge was very, very busy, there were no noise problems from either the outside or the inside. The front desk staff was very helpful. I needed a new box of tissue, for example, and they made sure it was delivered. Wi-fi signal was very weak, but it was a Saturday night and the hotel was packed with families and lots of kids (probably all using the internet). Breakfast selections were varied and excellent. This hotel was recommended by a friend and I understand it is locally owned and operated. For that reason I would return.

This was a quick in-and-out visit for me. In at 9 pm; out by 8 am so I did not use many of the amenities. I slept well and made use of the very clean, very new Publix in the shopping center next door to purchase lunch supplies for my continuing road trip.

The one thing that was a surprise was that there was no refrigerator/microwave in the room. I have found this equipment to be the rule rather than the exception in better Southern hotels, so I have come to expect it, especially a the price paid for the room. This is the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars.

Although I was very tired from driving all day, and the hotel lobby and pool were very busy and noisy (I had to make several trips between the car and the room) everyone seemed to be having a wonderful time -- and that energy was uplifting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. It is always nice to hear the positive feedback from our guest. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy our cocktail hour from 5:30pm to 7:30pm. It is alot of fun in our large lobby during the happy hour. You're right about the frige and microwave been almost a standard for hotels which is why we have just decided to purchase them for all rooms over the next couple of months. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and always try to improve by listening to our guest. Hopefull next time you will be able to enjoy the extras at the hotel. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    59
    24
    12
    3
See reviews for
73
41
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We used a coupon to stay here. Real nice place. The lobby is like a ski lodge, with TV's and Fireplaces throughout the lobby area. They have a complimentary "happy hour" that is nice. Rooms are clean and efficient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it is always nice to hear that we have met the expectations of our guest. Again thanks for your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend. The lobby is jungle like and great to sit and talk, eat your breakfast or have free wine and snack in evening. That is what attracted her. However, as I was heading home after a week long trip, I only really wanted a quiet room and sleep. The room had a slightly musty smell which my friend admitted she had noticed also. I was too tired to bother asking for another room. Otherwise it was quiet, room was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was the average fair for most hotels.

Room Tip: This is off the highway so a quiet room is fine as long as you are away from children's play are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am glad you enjoyed our large lodge like great room. I would like to apologize for the musty smell in your room. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and I am truly sorry that we did meet your expectations in the room. I hope this has not deterred you from staying with us in the future. Please call me the next time you're in town and I will make sure we take extra special care of you. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The attitude at this hotel is "what can I do toile your stay more comfortable?" They are so ready to help & so friendly . DJ Tate, the breakfast & evening host is awesome! You look forward to seeing his warm smile in the morning and again in the evening. I look forward to staying there again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it is always nice to hear that we have met the expectations of our guest. I will share your comments with DJ and Olivia so they can see how their warm and friendly smiles impacted your stay. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Rgards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were able to check in before noon and enjoyed a pleasant stay. Beautiful large lobby for family gathering @ breakfast and during their free cocktail hours. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The pool was another great gathering place for family and friends. WIFI was not always strong, but staff were friendly and there were ample stores and restaurants in the area (Trader Joes, Publix, Starbucks, Target and the Oak Mall, to name a few)

Room Tip: Request a room on the parking lot/main entrance side, since air conditioners have been updated to di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service. It is always nice to hear that we have met the expectations of our guest. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your time gathering in our large great room. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Rgeards
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and and I stayed here April 5th to April 9th. The facility is well kept. The staff members went out of their way to satisfy all of our needs. We will return to stay here in the future, The facility was like being at a tropical park. The hot breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We love to hear that our guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it is so nice to hear that we have met your epectations. I am glad to hear that my staff went out of their way to meet your every need. I will post this review so my staff can see how their caring and smiles had a positive impact on your stay. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservations while just minutes outside Gainesville, after checking at least ten hotels, which were all booked. After a complimentary drink served by a fire, we came to our clean, comfortable room after a long day on the road. Loved the nice toiletries. Night-night....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope this will be your home away from home when you are in Gainesville. It is nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed our cocktail reception in our cozy lobby. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it so great to hear that we met your expectations. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Gainesville

Also Known As:
Cabot Hotel Gainesville
Address: 3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Gainesville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Lodge at Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.