We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay for a Wedding Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Gainesville to your Saves list
The Lodge at Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay for a Wedding Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were able to check in before noon and enjoyed a pleasant stay. Beautiful large lobby for family gathering @ breakfast and during their free cocktail hours. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The pool was another great gathering place for family and friends. WIFI was not always strong, but staff were friendly and there were ample stores and restaurants in the area (Trader Joes, Publix, Starbucks, Target and the Oak Mall, to name a few)

Room Tip: Request a room on the parking lot/main entrance side, since air conditioners have been updated to di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service. It is always nice to hear that we have met the expectations of our guest. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your time gathering in our large great room. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Rgeards
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    104
    45
    19
    6
See reviews for
118
67
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and and I stayed here April 5th to April 9th. The facility is well kept. The staff members went out of their way to satisfy all of our needs. We will return to stay here in the future, The facility was like being at a tropical park. The hot breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We love to hear that our guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it is so nice to hear that we have met your epectations. I am glad to hear that my staff went out of their way to meet your every need. I will post this review so my staff can see how their caring and smiles had a positive impact on your stay. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We made our reservations while just minutes outside Gainesville, after checking at least ten hotels, which were all booked. After a complimentary drink served by a fire, we came to our clean, comfortable room after a long day on the road. Loved the nice toiletries. Night-night....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope this will be your home away from home when you are in Gainesville. It is nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed our cocktail reception in our cozy lobby. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it so great to hear that we met your expectations. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our first time staying here. We go up to Gainesville to visit our son who is attending UF. We have stayed at 3 other properties in Gainesville, but this is by far the nicest. The lobby is beautiful with a magnificent open fire pit with cozy seating all around. Our room was clean and very comfortable with a nice courtyard view. Staff was friendly. They have a free happy hour each night and a nice breakfast. They offer a good rate to parents of students in the area colleges. We will definitely be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to stay with us in the future. It is always nice to hear that our families enjoyed their time in our large lodge like lobby by the fire place. I always enjoy seeing our guest enjoying our breakfast and cocktails. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and when we read comments like this it makes it all worth while. I will post your review so that my staff can see how their caring and smiles have impacted your stay. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

There were so many prices it was funny. I called early in the day and was quoted $125 and when we walked in it was $99. The couple next to us paid $79 and we paid $59 (plus taxes) with a coupon from a hotel book we picked up.
The breakfast was very nice. Actually had some fresh cut fruit. My spouse loved the fireplace. We did realize at this hotel that you get one of the less desirable rooms when using the coupon. Which is fine. The view out our window was of a wall of another part of the building. However, many of the other rooms had great views. The room was very , very clean. All the staff was kind and went out of their way to behelpful. Water for shower could have been better. If in the area again we would try to stay here again. It was a quick one night stay and we slept well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it is nice to hear that we have met your expectations. I am sorry about the rate confusion. We do have the special coupon which you were able to take advantage of for slow nights when we don't intend to fill and I am glad you were able to find the book. I will post this review where my staff can see how their smiles had an impact on your stay. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very attractive with nice amenities, and would honestly have been a four star property, except that our room's water was tepid/lukewarm at best the night of arrival. We called the front desk about this issue at 9:30pm and 10pm, but only upon our THIRD call at 10:30pm did she admit that she honestly hadn't checked on the boiler yet, since she was the only one at the front desk (!). The problem wasn't resolved by bedtime, so my wife and children actually used a wet washcloth to get clean, while I braved a cool shower. NOT a pleasant experience, and enough to turn a four star property into a one star property. Will NOT be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. Without guest feedback some things could go unseen. I would like to apologize for the hot water problem you had while visiting out hotel. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and I am truly sorry that we let you down. If you are ever in the area again please call me personally and I will make sure we take extra special care of you and your family. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous. I've never slept on a bed as comfortable as these. We have stayed at The Cabot Lodge twice and will definitely pick this one again. Pricey when there is something going on at the university, but worth it. Wonderful, free, happy hour included with your stay. Pretty much a full bar. Wonderful, hot and cold breakfast in the morning. On chilly days, the fireplace is lit in the lounge. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good. Close to bar and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wondeful night sleep on our double sided euro top mattresses. It is always nice to hear that our families have enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and cocktails in our beautiful lobby by the fire. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it makes it all worth while when we read reviews like this one. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#1 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Gainesville

Address: 3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.