We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Gainesville to your Saves list
The Lodge at Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cabot Lodge has a ski chalet ambiance including a huge circular fireplace in the lobby. The lobby contains many groupings of comfortable furnishings so you can spend time talking etc in semi privacy. They have happy hour each evening included in your stay. Everyone I have met afiliated with this lodge is professional, polite and very very helpful. Rates are extremely competitive for the area. My fiancé travel frequently and Cabot is always our favorite above all.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the elevator the best. Elevators are nicely located and very fast. The King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea52Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. It is always nice to hear that we have met the expectations of our guest. I am so glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and happy hour in our beautiful lodge like lobby. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it makes it all worth while we we hear that our smiles and caring have had a positive impact on our guest. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bellaire, MI
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Some friends alerted us to a coupon found in the FL motel coupon book found at the welcome center. The fee was $59.95, without tax. This was our first stay at a Cabot Lodge. There is a very nice lobby area with a large gas fireplace. Happy hour includes free popcorn, beer, wine, mixed drinks...what's not to like?!
The room was quite large, clean, and comfortable. We had a room with a king bed. There was a desk, 2 additional "easy" chairs. The Cabot Lodge features a hot breakfast, with waffles, bisquits and gravy, yogurt, fruit, etc. It lasts only until 9:30 a.m., so plan accordingly.
The staff and front desk people were very helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellaire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to see our guest enjoying themselves in our beautiful lobby by the fire. Ii was nice to hear that you enjoyed our selections at breakfast and happy hour. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it makes it all worth while when our smiles have had a positive impact on our guest. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great hotel. The rooms are large, very clean and the bathroom is spacious. Social hour in the evening with free beer, wine and mixed drinks. The beds are very comfortable. Great breakfast that is served in the dining area. Front desk was very informative when we checked in. Second floor rooms have balconies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. It is always nice to hear that we have met the expectations of our guest. I am so glad you enjoyed the happy hour and got a nice night of sleep on our lovely double sided euro top mattresses. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it makes it all worth while when we know that our smiles have had a positive impact on our guest. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent several nights at this facility: clean, very quiet, and totally enjoyable. The nightly happy hour features free drinks and popcorn, but one night we had all-you-can-eat wings from a sponsoring restaurant. Breakfast was terrific, with many options and a great dining area. What made the experience perfect was an amazing staff. They were attentive and knowledgeable. We would return in a hearbeat. We were able to walk to area shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryfort c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and cocktails. I was equally glad to hear that my staff had a positive impact on your stay. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and comments like this make it all worth while. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Space Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Once again, we were in Gainesville for the weekend and once again, we stayed at the Cabot Lodge, just east of 1-75, on Archer Road. The rate was excellent and as always, the service and staff are top notch. The rooms (see photo) are very roomy, with 2 beds, flat screen TV, large bathroom, coffee maker, Wi-Fi. They have a large "gathering area" surrounded by sofas, chairs, and tables, highlighted by a big fireplace in the middle and 4 flat screen TVs on the adjoining walls. They serve a well-stocked free breakfast, with hot and cold items. And, to top it off, each night, from 5:30 to 7:30 PM, it's FREE Happy Hour with beer, wine, mixed drinks, soda and popcorn. And, as most of you know who have stayed there, the same nice woman tends bar as she has done for the past 11 years! What's great is as people gather in the lobby area, you can tell from the conversations that most people are repeat customers. Again, a must stay when in Gainesville!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. It is always nice to hear that our guest have enjoyed their stay. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with excellent customer service and it makes it all worth while when we read comments like this. I tell my staff all the time that their beautiful smiles really have a huge impact on our guest experience and when we recieve comments like this I make sure to post them so the staff can join in my excitement.
Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, and the lobby was beautiful, especially with the fire pit. We were left without a room the first night due to overbooking with many soccer teams, and the Lodge paid for the night at a different hotel. Regardless of the error, the other nights were very nice and we'd stay with them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamTheNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I would first like to apologize for our error in overbooking. Thanks so much for your understanding. I was so glad to hear that you returned to our hotel the second night and enjoyed the rest of your stay. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with great customer service and I am so glad to heat that we met your expectations. Again thanks for your comments and understanding and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had never stayed at a Cabot Lodge but took a gamble. We couldn't ask for more---clean, nice landscaping, friendly staff, large rustic open space with central fireplace with included breakfast and happy hour. Much nicer than some hotels that cost significantly more money. Used the 15 percent off for Cody's Roadhouse which was about a mile away and the food was very good. All in all, a great bargain. Will stay hear again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa R, General Manager at The Lodge at Gainesville, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this survey. I am always happy to hear that we have met and exceeded our guest expectations. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary happy hour and breakfast. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms with great customer service and I am so thrilled to hear that you had such a great time. Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Teresa Roberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#6 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#1 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Gainesville

Address: 3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#12 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#13 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing