We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Amenities, coupled with Comfortable Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Gainesville

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Gainesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Rockledge, FL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Amenities, coupled with Comfortable Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I have stayed at this Cabot Lodge several times before and this past weekend reminded me why. First, the staff is very friendly and go out of their way to accommodate you. We stayed during a UF football weekend and many of the guests and staff knew each others name, verifying that a lot of people stay there over and over again. The free breakfast buffet is great with plenty of hot items, fruit, danish, Krispy Kreme donuts, and beverages to choose from. And then, there's the free happy hour every afternoon! (They make a mean Bloody Mary). The rooms are very spacey and the double queen beds and pillows are some of the most comfortable I have ever been on! The room also has a desk counter with chair and a second chair in the corner, allowing plenty of space for four. Flat screen TV is there as well. Close to shops and restaurants, at you get 10% off at the Gainesville Ale House across the road. Again, well worth the stay and have "never" been disappointed. Lastly, actually saved $43 on the nightly rate using tripadvisor. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: The double queen bed rooms are comfortable with plenty of space for 4 people to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
82
45
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel nearly ten years ago and then again last weekend. It is clean, but it has aged and has not been updated well. Also, the happy hour and breakfast have declined. The two morning we had breakfast, the fruit was old and slimy. The wine at the happy hour had turned and was undrinkable. Additionally, we requested a quiet room as we were traveling with children, and were given a room overlooking the parking lot and the entrance to I-75. The location is convenient, but the hotel needs to be updated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

TV was not working at check in, and we reported it when we left to go out to the Gators football game just a few minutes after we checked in. We were told it would be fixed while we were at the game. We came back around 10 pm, and the TV was on in the room,but the picture was fuzzy. Very disappointing,as we planned to watch the late ESPN games. Too late and too tired to have someone come to look at it that late. We learned that others had similar TV problems. Otherwise everything was fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is an older hotel, but has been kept up well. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have a free shuttle if you need to get to the hospitals or to the University. The free breakfast and afternoon happy hour are very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We spent a couple of nights here after helping my son and daughter-in-law move to Gainesville for college. The hotel is in a very convenient location near I-75 and Archer Road. Archer is full of stores, restaurants, etc. We really liked the lobby/lounge area. The room was what I wanted... decent sized bathroom, big bed, open closet. The elevator was slow and noisy but it became a novelty and source of entertainment. The bar is apparently open only during happy hour and that is a nightmare. Coffee at the bar is terrible! Tastes like instant. We will stay here again but we'll get coffee next door and vacate the establishment between 5:30 and 7:30 p.m.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor if possible to avoid the elevator. Ask the desk clerk for extra coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSB FL & BR GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the Cabot Lodge while my husband was having tests done at Shands Hospital at UF. Shands has a "hospitality" rate set up with Cabot, much better than any of the rates online. The hotel was conveniently located to the interstate, restaurants and the university. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the property appears to be well managed and maintained. Our room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was cold and quiet. They have a free cocktail reception in the evening and an extended continental breakfast in the morning. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, it will be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Whenever we have early morning prodecures scheduled for Shands Hospital we spend the previous night at Cabot Lodge. There has never been a problem with our reservations or room. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The complimentary reception in the evening is a bonus allowing us to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Gainesville

Address: 3726 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2349 (Formerly Cabot Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Gainesville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.