We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Paris, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Great value! Stayed one night in July, hot as can be. The room was nice and cool though. Very clean, friendly staff, comfortable king size bed, free wifi; everything I needed. Although it was close to the highway I never heard a single vehicle. Good restaurants near by, Bonefish Grill was excellent I have to say. Would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    69
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
93
55
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The hotel is fresh and clean. It looks like it was recently renovated. However, except for Wi-Fi, there are absolutely no extras. There is no hair dryer or coffee pot in the room, not to mention a microwave or a refrigerator. There are no tissues or hand lotion in the room. There is no breakfast available, but there are places nearby. The beds are full size. The hotel is a good value if you don't plan ahead, but if you have a couple of months before you will be in the Gainesville area, there are better hotels for the same price range to be had. The staff seems to be friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

After check in, we recieved a phone call from the front desk. They said there was a leak in the next room and that they had to access that through our bathroom. When we got back to our room, it was a complete mess, drywall everywhere, tools all over the floor, an open mat knife on the floor, spilled primer in and around the toilet creating a toxic smell. And to boot, our stuff was still in this room/bathroom! The staff was not very helpfull. We did not experience the happy, friendly, courteous, helpfull staff that you would expect to find at a big hotel chain. Someone actually assumed that we would stay in that room???? They gave us a new room, and it was not a pleasant experience to move our stuff because of the fumes. Later that day I recieved a phone call from an employee offering us 2 free movies for our troubles......are you kidding me! I had to argue my case for them to give us a free night. I think that should have been offered right away with a big apology. They did not handle the situation very well. The front desk staff seemed young, and in-experienced. Needless to say , we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

This hotel is rated appropriately as a 2-star. That being said, we found it clean and well maintained. We live in Gainesville and our home's A/C went out right at the end of school, so we had to find a place to spend a few nights. That was all we needed, so it was tough to justify spending $100+/night at a surrounding 3-star suite type hotel knowing that our experience has been that they don't even measure up to that standard here. At $51/night after taxes, Red Roof was a good fit. Definitely in a convenient location, and in a safer/nicer spot than the other hotels in its class, which are south of Archer.

The pool was nice, parking is adequate, and the coffee in the lobby was always on. The rooms, beds, and bathrooms match the stars. Desk staff was courteous and pleasant and there were no issues with reservations or billing even though we modified our stay length twice. No worries about a greedy rip-off or screw-job here.

I would also recommend it as a crash pad on game weekends or whenever the 3-star hotels are full, but not for any kind of extended stay or as a relaxing oasis during a road trip. Adequate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I with our Dachshund stayed 2 nights while visiting relatives in the Gainesville area. This was our first time to stay at Red Roof Inn. The Customer Service was EXCELLENT from check-in to check-out. The property is easy to locate off of I-75 and there are plenty of resturants very close. The property was clean and well maintained...the room was clean...Beds were comfortable.....and we enjoyed the pool. This is an excellent pet-friendly hotel that we will stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This hotel is not rated appropriate. Found this hotel on priceline. Was only a 2 star. but, on the guest review, this hotel had good reviews, that's why I choose this one. After our stay, we decided to post a review so others could see that this hotel is a great place to stay. My only suggestion is, add a little breakfast bar.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stopped at this hotel on the way to south Fl. The desk clerk was nice and the room was fine---nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. The pool area appeared to be nice, too. There is no breakfast provided, which was fine with us. The only small problem was that there was no waste basket in the room and when I called to let the desk clerk know, she said she would bring one. It never came. I understand she may have been the only person on duty. We were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.